Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 7

Thread: Dish alignment meter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 20th, 2006
    Posts
    254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dish alignment meter

    When my tech installed my dish 1000 he used a meter that was powered by the 622 and would pick the strongest siginal from a sat for peaking. I asked him why he didn;t have a self powered meter and peak in the weakest transponder with it.
    Installers: here is the answer I got. 'That meter is too expensive and it doesn;t make any difference what transponder you peak in on it will align the same. Do you guys that install, agree with this statement.
    The strongest he could get on 129 transponder 22 was 59%. Dish techs tell me that is too weak and the tech asked me how could he get it any better. I told him that was his problem and not mine. He got mad packed up his gear and left.
    Any time it rains I loose home and garden which I watch much.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
    Scott Greczkowski is offline HERE TO HELP YOU!
    Proud SatelliteGuys Staff Member

    Proud Staff Member
    Join Date
    Sep 7th, 2003
    Location
    Central Connecticut
    Posts
    82,246
    Post Thanks / Like
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: scottct1
    They are going to be boosting the power of some of the transponders on 129 tommorow (they said this last night on the tech chat) I am guessing that you are in the North West.
    Scott

    Thinking about signing up for DISH? Use one of these codes and we BOTH save $50! - HOP019897404 - AHP046085712 - HOP017098428 THANK YOU!

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 6th, 2005
    Location
    Akron, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    5,344
    Post Thanks / Like
    To the OP, your installer is correct...more or less. Although I do use a self-powered meter. Too much of a pain to constantly rely on the receiver to power the meter. And as far as your transponder/aim thing. It doesn't matter WHAT transponder you peak on. The installer is going to peak on the signal from the particular satellite. Some transponders are going to have stronger signals than others. Admittedly, a 59 on the 129 is pretty weak. But as Scott said, Dish is going to be boosting some of the weaker transponders to hopefully help things.
    "You know, Smithers, 'I told you so' has a brother, and his name is 'Shut the hell up!'" -- Monty Burns

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 3rd, 2006
    Location
    West Texas (midland)
    Posts
    1,921
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by dude2
    When my tech installed my dish 1000 he used a meter that was powered by the 622 and would pick the strongest siginal from a sat for peaking. I asked him why he didn;t have a self powered meter and peak in the weakest transponder with it.
    Installers: here is the answer I got. 'That meter is too expensive and it doesn;t make any difference what transponder you peak in on it will align the same. Do you guys that install, agree with this statement.
    The strongest he could get on 129 transponder 22 was 59%. Dish techs tell me that is too weak and the tech asked me how could he get it any better. I told him that was his problem and not mine. He got mad packed up his gear and left.
    Any time it rains I loose home and garden which I watch much.
    Working with Dish Network equipment, really you don't need much of a meter. It's nice to have one that can power the lnb itself so your not using the reciever to power it.

    Personally I've picked up the Dual Buddy from Applied Instruments, paid a nice penny for it.

    The highest I've ever tuned a D1000 is 90 all across the 110/119/129. I've done it once, it must have been a good day, while other's I'm fighting with the 110/129 I either have one or the other.

    It would not be unheard of to have 90 or so on the 110/119 while the 129 could be in the mid to low 70's. That in return is beyond control of the installer.

    Hopefully it's all a thing of the past now....

  6. #5
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Hall did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Hall did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Hall did! Be COOL like Hall and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Feb 14th, 2004
    Location
    Germantown OH
    Posts
    11,600
    Post Thanks / Like
    I know that in the past, DirecTV install manuals made it clear that you shouldn't pick any particular transponder to peak off of.

    What numbers do you get on 110 and 119 ??

  7. #6
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! sprintcarcrazy did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, sprintcarcrazy did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, sprintcarcrazy did! Be COOL like sprintcarcrazy and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Dec 18th, 2003
    Posts
    820
    Post Thanks / Like
    From Central MO, around 90 on 110/119, 77 on 129, I had to haunt the installer to get a good signal, he was going to wal off with 129 in 60's and 110/119 in the 70's, he had to call in and get help to align the thing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •