Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to split the satellite signal to feed 2 receivers connected to one TV?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2005
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like

    Question How to split the satellite signal to feed 2 receivers connected to one TV?

    I have an active/subscribed Dish 500 system and I would like to know what is the best FTA receiver to use (along with my existing dish network setup)? I am leaning towards Viewsat 2000 Ultra

    There is one cable outlet and can I just use a splitter and feed both the Dish receiver (Vip211) and the FTA receiver at the same time? I am planning to connect both the receivers to the same TV (one through HDMI and another through Component).

    Please let me know if I need to provide more information.

    Thanks in advance.


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,790
    Post Thanks / Like
    not much FTA on DIsh 500

    NASA, ANgel One and the CD audio channels (not Sirius)

    What did you plan on picking up with the Viewsat?

    http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=34131
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2005
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the link. I am interested in getting sports/international channels. It looks like I need to run a seperate cable between a new dish and the FTA receiver. I will not be able to do that immediately.

    In the mean time, I am interested in experimenting with whatever I get on Dish 500. If Gol TV is available, that will be nice. My constraint is - feeding two receivers with one cable (carrying the Satellite signal).

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 5th, 2003
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    A dedicated RG6 coax run is definitely recommended for FTA.

    So you Have a Dish subscription and a DirecTV subscription and now you will be adding FTA

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2nd, 2005
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    I don't have DirecTV subscription any more. I got out of it with no penalty

    I am very happy with Dish and the Off-air UHF antenna.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 13th, 2006
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,584
    Post Thanks / Like
    Splitting the one cable to two receivers is not an option..........the receiver selects the left or the right side of the lnb by putting 13VDC or 18VDC thru the cable. If you're on a channel that reqires the left side and you go to switch the other receiver to a channel that requires the right side, you'll lost signal on the other receiver. In other words, the 18V will override the 13 and you'll only get one side of the LNB available. You have to run an additional cable.........if you don't have another available output on your LNB you may also need a multi switch. How many receivers are hooked up to your dish? And what type of LNB does the dish have?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •