Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 12

Thread: How do I hook up another receiver?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 9th, 2004
    Posts
    606
    Post Thanks / Like

    How do I hook up another receiver?

    Ok right now I have a 721 and 501 hooked up to a Dish 1000. The Dish 1000 has two outputs one goes to the 501 and one to a seperator which goes out to the two inputs of the 721. If I want to add another reciever how do I do that? Can I get another seperator and hook it up to the line that goes to the 501 and hook one into the other reciever and one into the 501? I'd like to hook up a 211 also and to my understanding there isn't a quad lnb for these things. How would I go about doing this?


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 17th, 2006
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    There is no easy or cheap way to do this. You will NOT be able to use a seperator to feed to seperate receivers. The way to do this is to change the dp+ lnbf on your 1000 dish to two dpdual lnbfs. You will then need to run all 3 lnbfs seperately into a dp switch either 34 or 44. If you use a 34 switch you will have to run another line to the 721 as the seperator will not work. You can however use a dp 44 switch. This will allow you to use the existing setup just running a new line from the switch to the new 211 location. Or throw up another dish 500 to feed your 501

  4. #3
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! boba did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, boba did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, boba did! Be COOL like boba and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Dec 12th, 2003
    Location
    Dorchester, TX.
    Posts
    9,056
    Post Thanks / Like
    You could also swap the 501 for a 625 that will work with a separator and use tuner 2 for your additional receiver. Check with DISH for the Dishin it Up cost I will guess at $69 but they will tell you.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 9th, 2004
    Posts
    606
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter
    Well the reason I don't want to do that is I want to hook up my HDTV reciever and don't want to do that with a non HD reciever as I have no reason for another reciever other than to get HD. I've ordered my projector setup and have a reciever on the way so am anxious for HD even though it's nothing new to me just to me having it in my house. I have a Dish 500 with quad lnb already that I kept when they installed the Dish 1000. They wanted to take it but I told them I paid for it and wanted to keep it. I also have a dish with 1 lnb for a 61.5 satellite or whatever I want to use it for so worst comes to worst I could hook up the 501 to one of those dish's. The only reason I don't want to is I don't want more than one dish outside although I'd deal with it if I had to. I will figure something out I was just wondering what I'd have to do to hook it up if I decide to do that rather than replace a current receiver.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 17th, 2004
    Location
    Southwest VA
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like
    nevermind.. forgot dpptwin cant be used with 34

    I agree with papalittle use dpp44

    Last edited by hokiecb; 11-14-2006 at 05:27 PM.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 19th, 2005
    Location
    Some old corn field, United States
    Posts
    1,362
    Post Thanks / Like
    fork over 100 or so dollars for a dpp44. problem sloved
    Sometimes I miss the old days when we had three channels on the TV. Back then, I went to bed at a decent time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •