Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 10

Thread: Amazonas 61.0W Location & Dish Position

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 4th, 2006
    Posts
    1,032
    Post Thanks / Like

    Amazonas 61.0W Location & Dish Position

    Scanned in Amazonas 61.0W yesterday (got about 10 Channels mostly foreign), expecting my 1 meter Fortec Dish to drive way over to the Easterly direction. To my surprise when I went outside the Dish only seemed to move a little over to the East from where my IntelSat 5.0 97.0W was previously located.



    Looking at a channel lineup previously published on this site, I thought Amazonas 61.0W would be on the far end of the arc travel of my dish. Have I done something wrong or is this just the way Amazonas 61.0 shows up re its positioning in the Clark Belt?

  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 15th, 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    238
    Post Thanks / Like
    If the location is at the far end of the arc, you will have to use DiSeq 1.2 instead of USALS. For me in CA, I can go up to 72W with USALS and further only with 1.2.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 23rd, 2006
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like
    You don't say where you are -- from my location (Oregon) Pas9 which is just a little further over is very much east, and the elevation is ~9 degrees, so an offset dish almost seems to be pointing at the ground.

    Last time I looked, there was nothing visible on Amazonas. Pas9 has a couple of BT channels mostly showing (PAL) color bars and an unencrypted feed for Cuban TV.

  5. #4
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,900
    Post Thanks / Like
    Amazonas has nothing on it. You might be getting Dish 61.5 at a very low power but it may come up on a scan
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 4th, 2006
    Posts
    1,032
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Amazonas 61.0W Location & Dish Position

    Quote Originally Posted by Iceberg View Post
    Amazonas has nothing on it. You might be getting Dish 61.5 at a very low power but it may come up on a scan
    You are probably right IceBerg. Of the 10 channels I got, there were only 2 that I could get a clear picture on, (or I think it said White Springs on the caption on the bottom part of the picture), and it looked like a middle East guy talking or preaching to a bunch of people in a foreign language on these 2 channels. Strange though that the channel list on the ViewSat Rx does identify these channels as being on Amazonas 61.0W!

    Also one other question: Does SB6 74.0W only have one watchable channel on it, - that is: the Ohio News Network (ONN)?? That's all I can find on SBS6 74.0W.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 4th, 2006
    Posts
    1,032
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thread Starter

    Amazonas 61.0W Location & Dish Position

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilipPeake View Post
    You don't say where you are -- from my location (Oregon) Pas9 which is just a little further over is very much east, and the elevation is ~9 degrees, so an offset dish almost seems to be pointing at the ground.

    Last time I looked, there was nothing visible on Amazonas. Pas9 has a couple of BT channels mostly showing (PAL) color bars and an unencrypted feed for Cuban TV.
    Thanks for the info PhilipPeake. I am located in Winnipeg, Manitoba and my South Sat is IntelSat 5 97.0W. I was going to try for Pas9 58.0W since the specs say the Stab Motor has a range of 50 degrees east or west. But if there is nothing on Pas9 then I guess I won't bother to try for it. Also can I ask what is a BT channel?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •