Welcome HOME to SatelliteGuys! We are America's Most Popular Satellite Forum!

        

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 6 of 10

Thread: NEW to FTA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 12th, 2007
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    NEW to FTA

    I just became aware of FTA.
    I would like to stop paying for Dishnetwork.
    Can I get the major networks on FTA?
    My wife needs them.
    What is the best equipment to buy to get going?
    Not the ultimate but good.
    Can I use any of the Dishnetwork equipment?
    Sam


  2. # ADS
    Register Today & This Ad Goes Away! Syndicated Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
     
  3. #2
    Help Keep SatelliteGuys For All, Click a Star and Become a Supporter! Iceberg did! Help Support The Site And Get Rid of the Syndicated Ads, Iceberg did! If you enjoy the site consider supporting it, Iceberg did! Be COOL like Iceberg and Click a Star and become a Supporting Pub Member today!
    Join Date
    Nov 17th, 2003
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    89,850
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by franc24 View Post
    Can I get the major networks on FTA?
    There are some networks on FTA KU Band. Fox & ABC, My Net, Univision, Telefutura. No CBS or NBC on FTA (NBC is but you would need a PC card and not a receiver)

    What is the best equipment to buy to get going?
    Not the ultimate but good.
    check out the review section on receivers. I have the Coolsat 5000 and love it

    Can I use any of the Dishnetwork equipment?
    Sam
    not really. You can get the audio channels (the CD music from 920-983), NASA and Angel One but thats about it. You need a 30" or larger dish and a KU Band LNB
    FOLLOW THE BUZZARDS.....

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 11th, 2006
    Posts
    34
    Post Thanks / Like

    Nbc

    Quote Originally Posted by Iceberg View Post
    No CBS or NBC on FTA (NBC is but you would need a PC card and not a receiver)
    Hey Ice, ... I haven't been down there for awhile but during the NASCAR season, I saw all the races on NBC. As a matter of fact (I'm only home on weekends) there was always some combination of NBC, MSNBC, or CNBC on all weekend.. And I would sometimes even watch Sunday night football on NBC. Is this a regular thing or just some wild feeds that happened to be on when I happened to be lookin???

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 10th, 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Iowa
    Posts
    4,375
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have seen NBC on during Primetime regulary running network progframming (7-10 pm cst then they run Leno.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 24th, 2006
    Location
    Jackson, Michigan
    Posts
    205
    Post Thanks / Like
    You can install a tv antenna for your locals assuming you have them available in your area. Most FTA receivers have an antenna input. Winegard makes a Square Shooter antenna which is about the size of an 18 inch dish and is non-obtrusive. This one and others would be available probably in your local area or at Sadoun and Solid Signal on the internet. Be sure and get one with a pre-amplifier.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 5th, 2006
    Posts
    286
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by franc24 View Post
    I just became aware of FTA.
    I would like to stop paying for Dishnetwork.
    Can I get the major networks on FTA?
    My wife needs them.
    What is the best equipment to buy to get going?
    Not the ultimate but good.
    Can I use any of the Dishnetwork equipment?
    Sam
    Yes ..all the major networks are up there on FTA and on 2 satellites...C-Band..Watch them all the time..outstanding video!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •