50W Satellite

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by jlrpes, Feb 20, 2012.

  1. jlrpes

    jlrpes Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Is anybody in Texas able to get 50W? I am able to get 58W so I assume that I can get 50W. Please help. Any help would be appreciatted.
     
  2. WTguy

    WTguy Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be able to get it, depending on your terrain and adjacent vegetation. I live in w.Tx and can go down to at least 37.5 (have not tried anything lower.
    Good luck.
     
  3. jlrpes

    jlrpes Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Have you tried getting 50W? I live in Mckinney, TX
     
  4. toucan-man

    toucan-man SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    What's at 50W?
     
  5. jlrpes

    jlrpes Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Claro TV. Some channels from Central America
     
  6. phlatwound

    phlatwound FTA Bumpkin
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Hillbillistan (SW MO, USA-37N 93W)
    here's the data from Dishpointer for Mckinney TX:

    [TABLE]
    [TR]
    [TH]Your Location[/TH]
    [TH]Satellite Data[/TH]
    [TH]Dish Setup Data[/TH]
    [TH][​IMG][/TH]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]Latitude: 33.1972°
    Longitude: -96.6398°[/TD]
    [TD]
    Name: 50W INTELSAT 1R (IS-1R)​
    Distance: 38854km[/TD]
    [TD] Elevation: 27.3°
    Azimuth (true): 117.3°
    Azimuth (magn.): 113.5°
    LNB Skew [?]: -48.0°
    [​IMG]

    [/TD]
    [TD][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    27 degrees is pretty high in the sky, unless you have some trees or buildings blocking your LOS you should be able to get it.
     
  7. phlatwound

    phlatwound FTA Bumpkin
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Hillbillistan (SW MO, USA-37N 93W)
    It appears you may be towards the edge of the footprint of 50W if I am reading the chart right. Might need a pretty well-tuned setup to pull them in.

    Also, are those Claro channels ITC? The info on Lyngsat shows the Claro channels on 11050 to 11170 Ku to be encrypted.
     
  8. rusat

    rusat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I located in Monterrey, Mexico. I receive with a 75 cm offset, lineal LNB, and with my openbox s10.
    All are encrypted, less Enlace channel.
     
  9. jlrpes

    jlrpes Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Thanks! what settings are you using for the LNB? is it 97250 - 10600 or 12750?
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri