72W 12053/6890

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Kraven, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. Kraven

    Kraven Topic Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    8,435
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Northern, VT
    Can someone confirm its there. This should be the strongest trans but comes in as S:eek: Q:0

    Cheers, K


    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
  2. Magic Static

    Magic Static SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    W Montana
    All four channels 78S 68Q :) Snowing so hard, you can hardly see the game ;)
     
    #2 Magic Static, Mar 16, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  3. Vinnie

    Vinnie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Mine scans in at 12052/V/6890 - 74% SQ - the microHD took a few seconds to lock onto the signal
     
  4. Kraven

    Kraven Topic Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    8,435
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Northern, VT
    Thanks. Trying to aim the dish, all transponders come in as S:45: Q:10 except for 12053 S:0 Q:0... but i need 12053 to lock
    in to due sat AMC1.

    Pretty weird. I should have stayed in bed.

    Cheers, K
     
  5. truckracer

    truckracer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Charleston wv
    10' Sami with NS-741 lnbf and pansat 9200.

    72-84% quality bouncing. Heavy overcast and raining.
     
  6. Kraven

    Kraven Topic Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    8,435
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Northern, VT
    What is odd is it should be at S: 45 and not S:0%


    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
  7. Cham

    Cham Professional Hobbyist
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    One degree north of FaT Air :)
    Maybe no LNB power? Mine shows S: 45% when no signal. Have trouble with 12053 with the MicroHD, often doesn't lock. AzBox pickes it up at about 65-67Q nice solid picture no breakups, but won't lock on the Micro for some reason. (same 90cm dish).
     
  8. Kraven

    Kraven Topic Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    8,435
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Northern, VT
    Beats me mate. Every inputed transponder comes up as 45 except for 12053. My concern is aiming to amc1 while using 12053...ie wasting time if she can't lock.


    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
  9. Magic Static

    Magic Static SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    W Montana
    I have it as 12055 not 12053. Lyngsat shows it 12055. Maybe try that and see if it makes it better?
     
  10. turbosat

    turbosat SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oneonta,AL
    Kraven there's been some other threads on that problem recently, that I got in on also. There's times that several people have had trouble getting the usual stable picture on that mux. Beginning to think they turn down the power on it part of the day. Not counting the solar outage I had on it lately, but I think that is over with since the 10th.
    I've started checking that H transponder with the religious channel on it for comparison, and it usually is VERY strong, 11965mhz Horiz.
     
  11. Kraven

    Kraven Topic Starter SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    8,435
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Northern, VT
    Thanks for the tip turbo. Its aimed pretty close. I blind scanned 30w to 127w and 83w to 123 mostly scanned in. I'll use 11965 to fine tune the dish when the sun comes up.

    Cheers, K
     
  12. Cham

    Cham Professional Hobbyist
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    One degree north of FaT Air :)
    I usually get 11965 (I get 11967, within the receiver's AFC range) in the mid 70's with the micro. Need to get almost 80%Q on the 11967 before 12053 shows up at all. No tweeking on the dish or lnb position seems to improve that here. I get the same problem with the horizontal TPs on AMC-1. Need a bigger dish I guess. Using SP1PLL LNBFs here.
     
  13. chaskuchar

    chaskuchar Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    humphrey, nebraska
    when i had S at 0, my lnb was bad on vertical. it got horizontal ok. that's what came to my mind now. charlie
     
  14. jorgek

    jorgek SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Near Toronto
    Not to muddy the waters anymore, but with the LNBF disconnected from the S9 STB I get S-30 and Q-10.
    With the LNBF connected but no signal from sat its S-43 and Q10.
    I would except Q of zero under these conditions?
     
  15. eurosport

    eurosport We're In The Final Stretch
    Supporting Founder SatelliteGuys Radio DJ

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    6,640
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    North Florida
    Should be, but if that's an Openbox S9 you're talking about, then ANYTHING is possible!
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri