Any clue why two ethernet jacks

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by greglwood, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. greglwood

    greglwood Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any clue why the hopper might have two ethernet ports. I would love it if both could be used, one to access the internet and the other your local lan. I don't have the greatest internet bandwitch and would get two connections if i could figure out a way to make the hopper use one for on-demand but would like it to use other for sling when i am at home.
     
    #1
  2. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,511
    Likes Received:
    39
    When you're at home Sling uses your LAN to stream the video.
     
    #2
  3. greglwood

    greglwood Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    You missed my point entirely. If i got a 2nd dsl connection and hooked it to the hopper and left my 1st dsl connection hooked to my home lan (iphones, ipads, computers, tv's, printers, etc), the hopper and my lan would be connected only by the internet. Thus if i was sitting in my house and used my ipad to access hopper it would not be going over my lan as it would not be hooked ot my lan, unless it was via the 2nd ethernet port.
     
    #3
  4. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,103
    Likes Received:
    631
    I think that would confuse the Hopper system.
     
    #4
  5. greglwood

    greglwood Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. I really was not expecting this to work, but was wondering what the designers had in mind when they decided to put two Ethernet jacks on the box.
     
    #5
  6. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Welcome To SatelliteGuys!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    85,340
    Likes Received:
    1,150
    It was supposed to be used for a passthrough. So if you only had one ethernet connection in a room you could plug it in to the Hopper yet still have a free ethernet connection to hook to comething else.
     
    #6
  7. greglwood

    greglwood Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, thank you.
     
    #7
  8. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,103
    Likes Received:
    631
    "was"

    Noted.
     
    #8
  9. Knightfolk

    Knightfolk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could use something like this:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003UT69IK/?tag=satell01-20

    I have a company paid DSL line I use with my home Cable modem and it works really well. Cable line is 100 MPBS and the DSL is 20; it is nice to have the redundancy when one drops, and the added bandwidth when they are both online.

    Note: this will not combine connections so your speed test will only be as fast as the fastest WAN connection in my case the cable line.

    Sent from my iPad using SatelliteGuys
     
    #9
  10. greglwood

    greglwood Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    #10
  11. Pepper

    Pepper DVR Addict~Mad Scientist
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Posts:
    7,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    Netgear makes some good multi-WAN routers. The FVS336G as previously mentioned has two, and the SRX5308 has four. Load balanced or redundant, and you can setup rules for what goes where, if you like. For a bit more money plus a recurring subscription, you can get the UTM series which basically work the same but include malware protection.

    Their business-class stuff also has a lifetime warranty.
     
    #11
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri