boost dish signal for long coax run?

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by DragonDan, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. DragonDan

    DragonDan Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a search, but didn't find anything specific.
    At a client facility of ours, the dish feeds a 24-channel rack. One of the outputs from the multi-switch (either the 8 port or 16 port Pico Macom units) then runs about 150' to the D12 receiver in the lobby.
    the problem is the signal from the dish (slimline 5LNB) is intermittent at the lobby receiver. We tried putting in a powered 4 port multi-switch about halfway down the coax to boost signal strength, although that did not fix the issue.

    Any ideas on how to get a stronger dish signal at this lone receiver?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. meStevo

    meStevo SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    8,899
    Likes Received:
    34
    Think you'll need an inline amplifier, but been a long time since i was in tech support, will let someone else confirm/link to a product.
     
    #2
  3. wildbill129

    wildbill129 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. DragonDan

    DragonDan Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try that in-line amp. Thanks
     
    #4
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9,119
    Likes Received:
    79
    I'd be concerned about a cabling or tuner issue. 150' is pretty far, but if the switching signaling is surviving, the signal should be making it too.

    Do you get an error code when it fades out?
     
    #5
VigLink badge
Sucuri