Can anyone recommend a dish mover that uses USALS for under a 100$US?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by michaelhoffa, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. michaelhoffa

    michaelhoffa Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking for dish mover H to H for 1m dish for under 100$.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
    #1
  2. Kraven

    Kraven SatGuys Resident Bozo
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    456
    My Sg2100 has served me well over the years and keeps on ticking...

    Cheers, K
     
    #2
  3. KE4EST

    KE4EST FTA or Bust
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    16,969
    Likes Received:
    364
  4. RPB

    RPB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    my Stab HH90 SatelliteAV recommended and I got last week works well (for my 90cm dish like www.satelliteav.com/ sells
    http://www.harmonyfta.com/Stab-HH-90-satellite-dish-motor_p_324.html
    harmonyfta
    Stab HH-90 satellite dish motor 1 $69.00 free shipping


    • Compatible with all DISEqC 1.2, DISEqC 1.3, and USALS receivers with motor commands
    • The HH90 has a standard 42mm size post for use with most dishes

    Use Dishpointer's settings, enter your address, drag to where your dish is to be, click *motorized dish* drop down the box select Stab HH90 and use the dish setup numbers they give, and it's not tough to install
     
    #4
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  5. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    That motor on eBay has a 42mm output shaft.
    Is that the right size for your dish.?

    1.2 m dishes would take a 55mm shaft.
    I just don't know about 1.0m ... and it might depend on brand, at that size.

    Not a problem, just something to confirm. :)
     
    #5
  6. Babadem

    Babadem Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Posts:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    13
    #6
  7. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    What kind of 1m dish are we talking about?
    - light weight tin?
    - heavy commercial steel?
    - commercial molded (eg: Primestar)?
     
    #7
  8. Bongu

    Bongu Addicted beyond recovery
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    5
    For a 1meter stamped steel dish, the DG 380 or one of the real Stab motors should serve you well. The SG2100 is a good motor, it just isn't that good with USALS or with larger dishes over time.

    I am getting ready to put up my new Winegard 1m with DG380 motor within the next few days. If I hit any snags, I will post them here.

    Sent from my Timex Sinclair using SatelliteGuys
     
    #8
  9. rrob311

    rrob311 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    My sg2100 has been running my 39" dish for 2 years and survived 2 harsh winters. It still works.

    Babadem I bought a couple dishes from Harmony last year and saved a bundle with local pickup.
     
    #9
  10. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea, the Dg380 seems to have a good reputation, and under $100
    It comes in a choice of motor shaft sizes, to fit your dish.
    I didn't think of it 'cause someone recently posted that Sadoun was out of stock.
    By all means give him a call. That would be my choice.
     
    #10
  11. Bongu

    Bongu Addicted beyond recovery
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Posts:
    522
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just got my 55mm shaft DG380 from Sadoun. The B model is for the smaller shaft, I think it is 42mm.

    Sent from my Timex Sinclair using SatelliteGuys
     
    #11
  12. michaelhoffa

    michaelhoffa Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank-you for all the input, have WS9036ne Dish. OpenBox S10, C/Ku band LNBF.
    Right now I have a spm-990 motor, but it will only do DisEqc commands.
    In another post I submitted earlier, I listed the issues I have had with unit.
    Tried on Pansat 9500hdx also and had same issues, not able to use USALS.
    Not to mention got two from same supplier and one was bad out of the box, just got a new one back in return, need to test it.


    I like my openbox, flashed firmware and not problems so far.

    Assembling another system for my Mom who lives out of her RV, so need system with motor that will use USALS.

    Thanks again.
    Mike
     
    #12
  13. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually, that is properly called a 90cm or 36" dish.
    That's how wide it is.
    Yes it's 39" tall, but to the LNBF, it's a 36" circle.

    All the motors mentioned should be fine ( sadly, not all 2100's are created equal).

    I personally have the Stab HH90.
    It seems cheaper, and is an evcellent choice for that dish.


    Edit: I wouldn't put a C/Ku LNBF on that dish.
    It won't do either very well.
    Get a proper Ku LNBF (maybe try a new PLL model)
     
    #13
  14. jmc98

    jmc98 Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    710
    Likes Received:
    15
    I have a Sg9120b for sale in the classified section here
     
    #14
  15. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeap Sadoun was always good for me.. was able to get my HH120 from him before they were sold out completely. And got it for under $90 too about 5yrs ago and still pushing my 1.2m dish fine.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
     
    #15
  16. RPB

    RPB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dg380B I got from Sadoun 2 days ago (delivered Monday 10-22-2012) says nothing on the box nor in instruction manual specifically stating USALs, (I know my HH90 does) (post size same diameter as a Dish/DirectTV mounting post 42MM (1 5/8" by my tape measure) Shaft, though it came in a DG380 box/instructions instead of DG380B, so perhaps they are swapping shafts at the shop, I dunno ... anyway, they are shipping now ...after they had backordered mine)

    Manual for DG380 I got 2 days ago says
    Specification:
    Protocol: DiSEqC 1.2 & Goto "X"
    Antenna size 120 cm Max


    I know my HH90 does, and an HH120 should

    Sadoun's website where I ordered it , the DG380B says it does USALs, so I assume it does, If not, it will go to my brother's house.

    The DG380 does have the 2 buttons on the motor itself to bump East and West a bit, where the HH90 does not
     
    #16
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  17. migold

    migold Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    394
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use a DG380, with the small shaft, on USALS exclusively.
     
    #17
  18. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    261
    Goto "X" feature means Usals capability I believe.
     
    #18
  19. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter Corporate Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,096
    Likes Received:
    4
    "Go To X" is a partial implementation of USALS. USALS is a two way communication between the receiver and the motor. "Go To X" is only a one way communication where the motor receives a command from the receiver.

    When a device distributor does not wish to pay for the USALS license, the device typically instead uses "Go To X". A "Go To X" motor receives the USALS command issued by the receiver, but it does not provide movement verification communication in return back to the receiver.
     
    #19
  20. migold

    migold Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Posts:
    394
    Likes Received:
    6
    SatelliteAV;
    That explains why my receiver never seems to know when the DG380 & the dish stops moving.... I only know it is on location when the signal comes in!
     
    #20
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri