Channel Changing DELAY!!!

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by jldhawk, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. jldhawk

    jldhawk Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started to notice a HUGE delay when I change channels, I get a black screen for a short time before it finally locks into the channel I tuned to.
    I have tried to use the Program guide to locate the channel, then hit "Select" and I have tried to just type in the channel number.
    I have powered down the VIP211 and I have done a check switch, and unplugged it.
    I have NO PROBLEM switching from Local channels via off air antenna.
     
    #1
  2. rcdallas

    rcdallas PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sign of LNBF failure. I see you have DPP Twin, assuming with dish1000 listed in signature with the latter as your primary switch.
     
    #2
  3. Van

    Van PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Posts:
    9,355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats your signal strength look like? Do you loose signal often? Ive seen this where the signal is weak specialy on the transponder that the guide(s) are located on.
     
    #3
  4. mdwatt

    mdwatt PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Posts:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem occurs when your LNB is drifting. Hit Menu, 6-1-3 with your remote and let it run the diagnostics. Once it's done hit details, and see the drift level. If it's taking that long to change channels the LNB is probably drifting over +/- 7.0 in which case it needs replaced. Call DISH for a LNB drift replacement service call. It shouldn't cost you anything.
     
    #4
  5. webbydude

    webbydude SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5,345
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm more inclined to agree with Van and say the signal strength is an issue. I'd definitely would run a check-switch and see what your current levels are.
     
    #5
  6. jldhawk

    jldhawk Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of the advice.
    I already have a tech scheduled to be here tomorrow between 8-12. Because I am getting poor signal on T/P 27 (A&E and Universal HD)
    I'll let him know about this issue too. while he is here...GOOD TIMING!!
     
    #6
  7. jldhawk

    jldhawk Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    He replaced the Dish with a 1000.2
    Must have been PART of the problem.
    LNB was bad on one of the birds.
     
    #7
VigLink badge
Sucuri