Connecting hopper to wireless internet - with a twist

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by n2audio, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. n2audio

    n2audio Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a new Dish setup. Just installed yesterday.
    Currently I have ATT wireless internet. The hopper is wired to the gateway.
    I'm planning to discontinue att internet and use my 4g android phone, which is wifi tether capable, as my sole internet connection.

    Dishnet's online tech support (live chat) said I can use the netgear USB wireless adapter to connect to a standard wifi network, but that it won't work with a phone.
    Is that true?
    Is there a work around?
     
    #1
  2. isaacmorseMI

    isaacmorseMI SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    It will work with your phone.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using Forum Runner
     
    #2
  3. n2audio

    n2audio Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    good news.
    Are there any other adapter options besides that Netgear DN suggests?
     
    #3
  4. isaacmorseMI

    isaacmorseMI SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could use a gaming adapter if you wanted to... Although I don't recommend replacing your DSL with tethering.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using Forum Runner
     
    #4
  5. PokerMunkee

    PokerMunkee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your phone do adhoc? I use WiFi Tether on my rooted Android phone and it won't work with some devices
     
    #5
  6. GaryPen

    GaryPen Rich or poor, it's good to have money.
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    15,654
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    74
    I hope the OP has an unlimited data plan. The standard 2GB will be eaten up in no time as the household's only 'net connection.
     
    #6
  7. n2audio

    n2audio Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm aware of the data usage situation.
    We rarely, if ever, stream movies. It would be an exception to do so. I would use it mainly for DN software updates.
    I also have a windows phone that I'm hoping will include tethering in an upcoming software update. There have been rumors about it since March or so. That one is only 2Gb, but would probably upgrade to 5g if it ever offers tethering.
    The phone that would be used has 5gb.
    I can easily monitor network usage. If 5-7g doesn't cut it we'll have to go another route.
     
    #7
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,044
    Likes Received:
    83
    Software updates are through the satellite. If you plan on using less than 5 Gigs, don't even bother hooking your DISH Network equipment to the internet through your phones connection
     
    #8
  9. JM42

    JM42 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    47
    Updates come down from the sat, an internet connection is not needed. If you don't stream from Dish, and none of the apps appeal to you, you can probably go without a connection.
     
    #9
VigLink badge
Sucuri