Constantly losing signal for HD.

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by cappy29, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty much what the title says, but signal looks pretty good when weather is fair or good. So far today I lost signal for some HD channels about 4-5 time atleast. Now of course we are getting storms here in P.A today, but the rain has not been extremely heavy. I posted my signal readings on here about a month or 2 ago and was told they look pretty good. I was told it could be a loose coax connection at the LNB and also a faulty LNB. The question is how to tell if the LNB is in fact faulty or not?
     
    #1
  2. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,532
    Likes Received:
    294
    Techs can probably test them, but switching them out is how I would do it.
     
    #2
  3. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9,173
    Likes Received:
    83
    First off, you should check your signal levels before you endeavor to break and make cable connections. If the clear weather signals are in the 90's, it is unlikely (although still possible if water is running into a connection), that cabling is an issue.

    Another test that doesn't involve tearing things apart is if the signal levels remain relatively high on the SD channels, rain fade a very likely the problem. DIRECTV's HD signals are significantly more susceptible to rain fade than the SD signals.

    Know that it is the cloud heads that cause the fade and not the rain itself. If this is the same front that blew through Ohio yesterday, this likely is how it is going to be until the storm blows over.
     
    #3
  4. Aridon

    Aridon Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    20
    The band used to transmit HD stations is much more likely to have issues in rainy weather than the SD stations. More than likely its just the weather causing the issues. In SE FL we lose signal for 30 seconds to a few minutes most rain storms. Its just normally not noticeable unless you have something recording during that time or you are watching it live. Since the rain comes around late afternoon in rainy season and there isn't much on except maybe a random sponge bob rerun getting recorded at that time I usually don't notice it.
     
    #4
  5. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    The system that moved over P.A today came down from the Great lakes and so far has not packed the wallop they said it would. Now I have been with Directv just about a year now and had Dish for 13 years before and can pretty much say that I did not have this much of a problem with them. The thing that makes me think there is some sort of a problem is I heard alot of people say that Directv is slightly better when it comes to rain fade. As for the standard Def. channels I checked 1 or 2 of them and only saw the 1 go out for a few seconds and held the rest of the time. My uncle had Directv and he only lives about a hour away from me and he said he hardly ever lost his signal and he had HD. So, I am not sure what to think at this point, but I am going to go up and check to make the sure coax is tight at the dish.
     
    #5
  6. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,930
    Likes Received:
    220
    Cappy,
    You have a lot of variables here.
    First, Dish uses different technology than D* for HD.
    2nd, your Uncle and you would have to have the exact same set up to really tell anything.

    Many people have very little rain fade, I am one of them, unless it's really hard downpour, I usually don't lose signal.
    Others have more issues,often it's a alignment issue, but not always.

    When you lose signal next time, check your SD version.
     
    #6
  7. Cobra611

    Cobra611 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Posts:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this isn't a solution, but when your HD channels go out, switch over to the SD counterpart and you SHOULD be okay to watch programming while you wait for reception to come back. I live just North of NYC and when the heavy storms, or even fairly heavy steady rain at times as well, I lose the signal. But, most of the channels I have tested my theory with, have worked as a temporary solution. Good luck!
     
    #7
  8. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,930
    Likes Received:
    220
    Yes, this will often work, unless it's bad enough to knock them out as well.
    The SD and HD use different type of signals that is why that is capable of happening.
     
    #8
  9. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I know my uncle had the 5 LNB Directv dish and mine is the new single 1. Here are some of my signal readings from 99(c) 95,95,89,91,93,92,89,89,92,92,89,89,95,94 and from 99(s) 95,92,91,85,0,97,0 96,95,0,0,90,80,54,60 and from 103(s) 72,0,53,0,0,0,0,97,96,47,49,84,89,0,0 and 103(ca) 87,94,89,90,89,91,87,91,87,90,91,91,86,87,91,91 and 103(cb) 95,92,91,85,93,91,89,86,94,91,90,89,94,91 I did not do 101 because it is coming in real strong and when I took these readings this morning the weather was decent and no rain.
     
    #9
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,532
    Likes Received:
    294
    Those are good solid signal levels. When you say you lose signal often, is that only during fairly heavy storms or even in light rain?
     
    #10
  11. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well yesterday we had a system move through and I would not say it down poured, but was an average rain and lost signal HD wise about 5 or 6 times. The standard def. that I checked held other than 1 time in which it went out for maybe 10-15 seconds.
     
    #11
  12. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,532
    Likes Received:
    294
    That sounds more or less normal, but you may have issues with a loose connection or bad cable somewhere. Have you done a thorough check of your setup, inspecting all of the connections, cable, dish and mount?
     
    #12
  13. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I am gonna check some stuff today like the coax being snug at the dish and at the splitter. I know when I had them come back out and install the internet connection kit, the tech forgot to tighten up the 2 coax ends and it was making it lose signal. So I figure I might as well check it outside since that happened on the inside. I guess if all else fails then I will have to get the Directv home protection plan and let them give it a second look.
     
    #13
  14. Hutch1814

    Hutch1814 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    11
    I wonder what the db level is behind the receivers? The signal might be good but his SNR may be bad -10 or lower or the db power level may be -55 or higher behind the receiver. Normally causes by a bad line or cable or even a LNB or switch/splitter. I would try a few of the fixes recommended already or just call Directv. The 103 had a few mid 80's on it and could be tweaked but other than that your signals look fine. Makes me believe you have another issue.
     
    #14
  15. cappy29

    cappy29 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know how I can measure the db level? Just about 10 minutes ago we had a brief shower come through, and it was about average to semi hard and my sister's kids were watching 1 of the SD cartoon channels and it went out for close to 2 minutes.
     
    #15
  16. Hutch1814

    Hutch1814 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    11
    You'll need a tech out to test it with a meter. There may be another way but I don't know of any
     
    #16
VigLink badge
Sucuri