Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Diagnosing defective lnb's

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by velasco581, Feb 23, 2007.

  1. velasco581

    velasco581 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all, I've been working for E* for some time now and have a question for you experts out there.

    How do you guys diagnose bad lnb's? I use an Aspen signal meter and a satbuddy. I know the Aspen meter has a lot of options you can select such as 13v/18v and other things but I've never really been taught how to use them. I read the manual and it said all the options are to help in diagnosing bad lnb's. Does anyone know how to actually diagnose these using the aspen meter or the satbuddy? Any info is appreciated thanks.
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    26
    Very simple, reciever does not work with LNB, Switch LNB and Receiver works. Defective LNB!
     
    #2
  3. velasco581

    velasco581 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    reply

    Thanks for the post but what do you do when you roll up to a trouble call and there is nothing wrong with the system? The signal loss problem only happens once in a while but when you arrive it works fine? I am tired of just replacing connectors on those type of trouble calls and being hit with a trouble call on my name a week later.
     
    #3
  4. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    26
    Replace the LNB anyways when in doubt, and RMA it as a defective part! I doubt the dealer or company you work for is going to take the time to actually test every single one!!!

    If you get called back out again, then you know the receiver is bad.

    Sometimes if the customer is a pain in the ass, or the trouble call is very far away, I'll replace both the LNB and receiver, and all the connectors just to make sure that I will not have to waste my time and go out there again.

    The only thing I would keep an eye out for is reman DVR's. I do not trust them.
     
    #4
  5. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you want to be 100% sure, put your Dish in an easily accessable location and when you got an intermitent problem then replace the LNB with one that came off your own system that you know that works!

    LNB's used to be easy to test, but with all the electronics, switching, and band stacking they do today its really almost impossible to do onsite!
     
    #5
  6. Jared Twomey

    Jared Twomey Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly.. the buttons on your meter for 13/18v and 22kHz tone could be used to test legacy lnb's and switches. But with Dishpro stuff there is not much you can do. On service calls (specially ones far away) I replace all outside connectors and ground blocks, and lnbs if there is any question at all. Then if I get called back its either a wire or reciever issue.
     
    #6
  7. velasco581

    velasco581 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    Thanks for the info so far guys. You said legacy lnb's there is a way to test? Can you please explain to me how you do this test? I've been to a few jobs where the sw21 worked fine and it seemed like it might've been the lnb but I couldn't narrow it down so I just guessed and replaced the lnb's. Thanks again for your help so far.
     
    #7
  8. Smith P.

    Smith P. On Vacation

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Posts:
    8,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't test equipment with intermitten problem in a field .
    That's the a law of physics.

    It's possible do that in a lab, ie using special setup with logging all parameters plus having climatic chamber for LNBF/switches.
     
    #8
  9. jody wan kenobi

    jody wan kenobi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    LO Drift

    Greeting, This is my first time in any Kind of forum. I have been with E* since 2002, I am now an LSC. Trainer. I was told this place was a good source of info, I also figured I may be able to help out as well. There is a new diagnostic tool that is currently being added via software upgrade to receivers, allowing techs to be able to check for Low Oscillator or "LO" drift. Its an intermittent problem that is only detectable by the Super diagnostic Software. YOu reach it from the Sys info screen. (Menu Twice) :eureka
     
    #9
  10. Smith P.

    Smith P. On Vacation

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Posts:
    8,917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, we're discussing results of the feature.
     
    #10
  11. Jared Twomey

    Jared Twomey Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, so you really cant TEST lnb's with the meter. Its more of the fact that you can force legacy lnb's to either pick up even or odd transponders with the 13/18v button. And you can quick to make sure switches are actually switching with the 22Khz tone button.
     
    #11

Share This Page