Direct Tv dish self install

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by thirtynine39, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, newbie here, first post, I have been reading and reading....so here goes, and be gentle...

    Currently have Direct TV HD in Ohio. 2 HD DVR, 2 HD receivers HR-20, 3 sd receivers.

    I have a cabin a friend and I share in Ohio and I am transitioning to Arizona over the next year. I want to install an HD dish at the cabin and in Arizona.

    Today I ordered a dish, Kaku Slim Line Satellite Dish 99 101 103 Hdtv 3 LNB
    by DIRECTV, Technical Details,
    SL3 Slim Line Dish receives satellites 99, 101 and 103
    Gets all HD channels broadcast by DirecTV
    Runs 4 receivers in all 1080P or P.
    Dish size: 22.5 in. x 32.5 in
    DIRECTV 3 LNB Ka/Ku SlimLine Dish Antenna for MPEG-4 C HD Programming.


    Cut and paste from a popular website on the dish info......

    Is this a single line dish? Do I need a multiswitch for 4 TV's? 6 Tv's?

    Do I need a power inserter for each receiver?

    Can I integrate an off air HD antenna easily into this setup? (multiswitch? Diplexer? other?)

    Should my HR-20's work with this? What about my old SD receivers?

    Okay, first will this dish work for me? I don't need international programing, basically sports, MLB EI, NFL ST, ESPN gameplan and RSN. I know I can't get my locals in AZ, but at the cabin probably.

    I think all I need 99, 101 and 103 sats, right?

    I understand during the install, mast plumb, plumb, plumb....

    Then tune in SAT 101 perfectly with elevation and azimuth.

    Then don't screw with elevation and azimuth.

    Use the tilt to tune in 99 and 103, very small adjustments at time and let the signal catch up. Which SAT tuned in second 99? or 103? Third?

    Are there better transponders to use on each SAT in Ohio? Arizona?

    I plan on setting myself, a receiver and a TV right next to the dish during the install and watching the transponders on the screen myself as I adjust the dish.

    Does anyone have any good links to instructions on the web, this site, other sites or videos?

    I am sorry I have asked so many questions, but I want to do this right and I have tried to research as much as I can.

    Thanks in advance!
     
    #1
  2. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahhhhh, I am a newbie here....but does anyone have a little help??? Thanks....
     
    #2
  3. dfergie

    dfergie Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    73,657
    Likes Received:
    394
    Welcome to SatelliteGuys! You shouldn't need power inserters, how many receivers are you looking at using at each location?
     
    #3
  4. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an SWM lnb (single lnb??) I would like to have the ability to have 6 or so if i need to.....

    As I see it right now I can easily run 4 recievers from the single line lnb, but what kind of multiswitch do I need to run more than 4 ?
     
    #4
  5. dfergie

    dfergie Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    73,657
    Likes Received:
    394
  6. boba

    boba SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Posts:
    9,560
    Likes Received:
    92
    #6
  7. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know I have an HR-23- 600, I will need to get some more HD receivers, where would I find a list of those that are compatible? Is the HR23-600 compatible?

    Thanks!
     
    #7
  8. dfergie

    dfergie Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    73,657
    Likes Received:
    394
    Any of the HR or H series would / should work.
     
    #8
  9. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! Any ideas on best transponders to use when aligning, aiming, pointing dish?
     
    #9
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,551
    Likes Received:
    302
    Any of them on 101, 99c, and 103ca and cb.
     
    #10
  11. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, let me throw some updated info.....

    I have a SWM LNB ( single line) LNB.

    What I need help with is aligning it, aiming it. I have done the aiming with the "traditional" 4 wire LNB in the past with my receiver. I have all H & HR receivers and DVR's, I have checked and they are all compatible with SWM technology.

    The basic question is that if I sit next to my dish, TV, receiver, power inserter NOT HOOKED directly to receiver and attempt to align my SWM dish LNB, can I do it this way with a receiver?

    If I can do it with a receiver, Do I use a SWM multiswitch?A Direct TV single line SWM LNB 4 Way Splitter 2 - 2150 Mhz? A DIRECTV[SUP]®[/SUP] ASL-1 Alignment Signal Locator?

    Or do I have to have a meter???? Thanks for any help, I will on and off today and will reply to any questions ASAP. I am trying to get set up for an install next weekend and need to get anything ordered additionally I might need.

    Thanks in advance....
     
    #11
  12. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,495
    Likes Received:
    370
    with SWM the power inserter HAS to be hooked up

    just go LNB-------------------power inserter---------------------receiver

    Once you get the dish aimed then add the other items (splitter, other receivers etc)
     
    #12
  13. thirtynine39

    thirtynine39 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I can use just a receiver, no meter, to do the initial alignment if the direct tv dish? The direct tv install video states that using the receiver to do the initial alignment will damage the receiver??? Just double checking...What about putting a DIRECTV[SUP]®[/SUP] ASL-1 Alignment Signal Locator in line between the dish and the receiver to "break" up the different sats (99, 101, 119?)

    One other thing, I have looked at Wiring diagrams over and over. Using the single line from the dish, once it is aligned and I want to put up to 8 receivers into service, where does that single line go from the dish if I am using a SWM 8 multiswitch?

    Thanks again!
     
    #13
VigLink badge
Sucuri