DirecTV HR-34 - disappointing

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by gigahurtz, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. gigahurtz

    gigahurtz Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm now over one month with my DTV service and I have to say I'm disappointed with the HR-34. The receiver operates very slowly, responds to controller requests slowly and whole home dvr is extremely unstable. I feel as if I am a test bunny for directv, even though I paid $99 for this box and $99 for my H25s.

    Issues I have come across with the HR34 so far:

    1. The response for guide and other menu options is extremely slow.

    2 . Guide scrolling and channel changing is slow.

    3. Receiver is unstable, I feel I have to reboot very often.

    4. Whole home DVR is not stable. Every time I attempt to watch a recorded show it seems it can never make a connection and I have to keep clicking try again.

    These things have been very annoying. I've tried the two CE releases for this receiver and it was disappointing to say the least, but it's beta software so I'd expect it.

    I'm considering calling directv and complaining about all of this. I feel the receiver was not as finely turned as it should be.
     
    #1
  2. royrdsjr

    royrdsjr SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    5,732
    Likes Received:
    139
    On the settings page of your H25's,does the HR34 show up on the Whole Home Status page as "Sharing On,Deletion On"? I would have thought that the HR34 would operate along the lines of the HR24,which I have found very stable. Another thing,I've found that my HD DVR's respond better to my remotes if I have my remotes on IR. RF on my remotes can be a headache when it comes to trying to change channels,pull up the menu,& absolutely trying to type in 0-2-4-6-8 to download the latest CE. I'm not sure if you have your remote to your HR34 set to RF,but if it is,change it to IR to see if the HR34 responds better to your remote commands(if you had your HR34 hooked up to a Slingbox,you'd have to have it set up for IR anyway).
     
    #2
  3. Hutch1814

    Hutch1814 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've noticed the very same things when playing with it. I don't have one but we have one at our warehouse (we have every box that's out there including the TiVo) and when I was playing with the HR34 it was extremely slow to respond and whenever I would try to pull up something on MRV it would either take forever or disconnect half way through. Not sure if it's just a glitch in the software or not. Ours is hooked up via a SWM 16 so I assumed that was the problem with it dropping out of MRV. I've seen that happened a lot but now I wonder if it's really the box having the issues. I also was unable to pull up the signal strength.

    And for the record, I bashed TiVo this whole time and the new one is actually a really well put together machine. I actually considered getting one!
     
    #3
  4. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    87
    IMO, as someone who has owned a HR20, HR24 and now HR34 the first month they came out, Directv usually takes a few months after public release to get it worked out.

    That being said, Im running mine on a AM21 and EHD and recording up to 4 things at a time some nights without issue. My only complaint right now is how it slows down on the active channels.
     
    #4
  5. gigahurtz

    gigahurtz Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    All settings are set up correctly. This issue has gone on since the start. The MRV is very flaky at best. I had issues at the start, but it turned out it was a bad H25 box that was replaced. Now, the problem continues and there is no rhyme or reason to it. It's extremely annoying.

    I realize that these issues will hopefully get worked out over time, but why not work most of these issues out BEFORE selling the product to customers? As a returning customer, this puts a really bad taste in my mouth that I'm stuck in a contract on something that's not working that well. It's very frustrating and annoying for me to deal with this. I am happy with DirecTV overall, but this particular issue really bugs me.
     
    #5
  6. gigahurtz

    gigahurtz Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize that CE releases are very high risk and aren't stable. Unfortunately, even the NR release with the SD GUI is unstable and not functioning properly so I have nothing to lose at this point. I've reverted back to the NR from the last CE release. I'm hoping that the bugs will get worked out when the NR release for the HD GUI is out.
     
    #6
  7. qcarm

    qcarm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problems. I have displayed the mesh values and they are all good for DECA everywhere on the RG6 network. I have (3) H25's connected to the HR34. I sometimes have to hit "try again" multiple times in order to connect from the H25 to the HR34 before it actually plays. I also notice that every once in a while it will stop if I am watching an in progress recording when the recording timer stops. I am on the old SD guide using NR software. It is like the HR34 isn't responding quickly enough to not trigger a timeout.

    I have had reboots on the HR34 for no apparent reason in the middle of recordings twice. The software wasn't being updated either when I checked the version.
     
    #7
  8. royrdsjr

    royrdsjr SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Posts:
    5,732
    Likes Received:
    139
    It's strange that with the HR24 running as near flawless as it does,that the HR34 would have the problems that it's having. I guess though that the HR24 is based on the improvements of earlier HD DVR's & the HR34 is new technology out of the box,bugs & all. Are people who would have just the HR34 & up to 3 HD receivers like the H25 & using the "traditional" DECA set up(Cinema Connection Kit,wired or wireless) & green labeled SWM LNB & splitters having the same problems?
     
    #8
  9. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    87
    I have mine as the only dvr with the DecaBB kit, and I just dont have many issues. It is new hardware, so I expected some issues. As bad as the HD Gui CE software is, I think itll be awhile before we get it :)
     
    #9
  10. qcarm

    qcarm Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is a new install with the Cinema Kit and (3) H25's. Despite my complaint which I attribute to growing pains, I don't regret my choice because 90-95% of the time it works flawlessly. I really have only had 2 reboots that I know of and I discovered because I couldn't see the HR34 from the H25 and when I went downstairs I could see it was resetting. The majority of the time remote viewing works fine, I am able to solve the "retry connection" problem after a several presses of Enter.

    I think it is a nice unit and wouldn't want anything else. They probably need to get the software timeouts adjusted since the traffic is so much greater given the extra capacity of the tuners/hardware compared to the previous units. Honestly if it would just retry on its own 2-3 times before giving an error message I wouldn't even know it had a problem except for a 1-2 second delay.
     
    #10
  11. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,530
    Likes Received:
    292
    You have had this setup for a month with these problems and you haven't called Directv to come and fix it yet? Seriously?
     
    #11
  12. gigahurtz

    gigahurtz Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, DirecTV has been out two times. It was the same installer and he said that everything is configured correctly and that it's a receiver issue. He did say that I could have the box swapped but he wasnt confident that it would resolve the issue and that it's most likely a software issue.
     
    #12
  13. jcrandall

    jcrandall Proud Staff Member
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    9,934
    Likes Received:
    16
    That's exactly what you are :D

    I think you'll find these issues go away in 3-6 months as they refine the software. They are still working aggressively on the HR34 software, you may want to check out our Cutting Edge forum if you want to try updates as they test them.

    I remember when I first got the HR20, Directv's first MPEG4 HD-DVR. It was a solid six months before it seemed real stable.
     
    #13
  14. Muckrak3r

    Muckrak3r Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Posts:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have any of the laggy screens/menus on the HR34 itself, just get errors when trying to watch recorded shows on our back room receiver. Keep having to try again until it finally plays. Haven't had to do a single hard boot on the HR34 yet.

    Sent from my GT-P7510 using Tapatalk
     
    #14
  15. Stargazer

    Stargazer Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    15,552
    Likes Received:
    57
    I wonder how this will compare to Dish Hopper's functionality and the reliability that it will have out of the box.
     
    #15
  16. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,530
    Likes Received:
    292
    Rather than wonder whether or not it's a software problem, I would get it swapped out for another one.
     
    #16
  17. gigahurtz

    gigahurtz Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Considering many others are having the same problem, I highly doubt there are a bunch of bad boxes out there. If the problems continue, I will look into swapping the box.
     
    #17
  18. skew

    skew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had mine for a month everything seems to run fine for me except when I try out the CE's they are sluggish and buggy but thats to be expected on first ce releases. On the NR builds my box works as fast or slightly faster than hr24's I have used. But the hr34 is still nowhere near the speed of the h25's with hd gui but I'm sure it will in time.
     
    #18
  19. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    87
    That's what I'm seeing as well. I think disappointing is not accurate, especially if you have many new CE devices in the past years. Man the hr20 was a blast, first 3 months it was out the OTA tuners were not active.
     
    #19
  20. steinhouse10874

    steinhouse10874 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you provide more details on your setup?
     
    #20
VigLink badge
Sucuri