Welcome to SatelliteGuys!

Get rid of many of these ads and be part of our community! Registration is FREE!

CLICK HERE TO SIGN UP!

DISH Fails EAS Test? No Perhaps the EAS Test Fails DISH!

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by Scott Greczkowski, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Thread Starter Welcome To SatelliteGuys! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Posts:
    83,945
    Likes Received:
    432
    We were talking about this in the supporters Pub Member forum, but from the looks of things DISH Network failed todays EAS test.

    I did some testing myself and for my test I had the following setup...

    TV tuned to our local NBC Station
    Laptop Tuned to Comcast on USA Network
    iPad tuned to DISH Network via Slingbox on USA Network
    Desktop PC tuned to DIRECTV via Slingbox on USA Network
    SiriusXM Tuned to 80's on 8
    Internet Radio tuned to a MI Radio station

    At 2PM DIRECTV flipped programming over to a slate about the test, then when the EAS went off it displayed the crawl from the EAS on the top of the screen. After 30 seconds DIRECTV went back to regular programming.

    At 2PM DISH Network was displaying NCIS on USA Network. There was no mention of the EAS at all.

    At 2PM Comcast Hartford was displaying NCIS on USA Network, however at 2:03PM the cable box put up a message on the screen with the EAS message. (They were late but got the word out) after 30 seconds the cable box reset itself and retuned back to USA Network.

    At 2PM SIRIUSXM played the emergency Alert tones...

    At 2PM the radio station in MI played the emergency alert sound however the sound was bad.

    So if I had to grade things I would give DIRECTV a PASS with an A
    I would give DISH Network a fail with an F
    I would give Comcast Hartford a Pass with a C (they were 3 minutes late)
    I would give SIRIUSXM a pass with an A
    I would give the MI Radio Station a Pass with a B (just because of the poor audio which I am told was not their fault)

    Did anyone else tune in and see anything on DISH? (and I am not talking about crawls that some stations put up themselves)

    Update: I have been in contact with a number of folks at DISH Network, and it appears DISH did not fail the EAS Test... instead the EAS test might have failed them! For more details please CLICK HERE.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. skyviewmark

    skyviewmark Active SatelliteGuys Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe Dish Forgot to set their clocks back..
  3. bnaivar

    bnaivar Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scott:

    I noticed that several channels didn't start the test until 2:01. Some of the Dish channels were running a crawl about the test when my system's local EAS system took over.
  4. whatchel1

    whatchel1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Posts:
    8,959
    Likes Received:
    7
    It didn't run over HBO at 1 PM CST. I have been doubtful the entire time that E* would do this test.
  5. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Thread Starter Welcome To SatelliteGuys! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Posts:
    83,945
    Likes Received:
    432
    As far as I understand it, DISH was supposed to interupt broadcasts on all channels with the EAS alert like DIRECTV and Comcast did... but they did not.
  6. rogerpl

    rogerpl Active SatelliteGuys Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here it northern Vt comcast ran test around 2:15
  7. whitewolf8214

    whitewolf8214 SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    19,542
    Likes Received:
    42
    Scott contatct Charlie and tell him you didnt see dish do it and ask him why they didnt do it :) i bet charlie says soon :D :)
  8. GravelChan

    GravelChan Member

    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was watching Fox News on Dish. Megyn said she would talk right through it as if it was not happening. She did! It didn't! :D
  9. K9SAT

    K9SAT SatelliteGuys Guru Supporting Founder SatelliteGuys Radio DJ

    Posts:
    13,165
    Likes Received:
    8
    Scott I saw it run... On all 24 full time HD rsn channels! LOL :p
  10. whitewolf8214

    whitewolf8214 SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    19,542
    Likes Received:
    42
    LMAO What megyn just said about the eas saying some stations said there programming was too good to interrupt it to do the eas :D :)
  11. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,138
    Likes Received:
    95
    I had MLB Net on and nothing on DIsh

    Directv did do the cut like they were suppose to
  12. Jonhern

    Jonhern Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i was watching ESPN and they said there will be a test soon, but nothing happened, then there was a crawl again saying that what you just saw was just a test, but we did not see anything. Nothing on CNN either that was on the other tuner and nothing on the Spanish channel, I think the Dominican channel, that my mom was watching.
  13. nelson61

    nelson61 SatelliteGuys Family Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Posts:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    17
    Guess that's why it is a "test"
  14. catnap1972

    catnap1972 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only saw the guy saying there would be a test....didn't see a test
  15. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    12,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    It's not 2pm Mountain time yet.... :D

    I have to believe the federal gov't will FINE Dish for this, yes ? I don't think any excuse will get them out of it.
  16. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Guru Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    12,307
    Likes Received:
    66
    Someone forgot to tell Dish that they should have done "pre" tests weeks or months ago on hidden/test channels !! :D
  17. fbbonline

    fbbonline Member

    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was recording 2 channels at the same time. Just checked...the local PBS displayed the alert. Comedy Central did not.
  18. Jonhern

    Jonhern Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    just saw on cnn that a lot of stations and providers failed the test
  19. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Thread Starter Welcome To SatelliteGuys! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Posts:
    83,945
    Likes Received:
    432
    I asked someone at DISH why they failed the test and got back that they are looking into it.
  20. JimK2

    JimK2 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Links monetized by VigLink
Sucuri