Dish- New Customer Equipment Questions

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

C4dishguy

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 19, 2015
United States
Noob here trying to come back to Dish. I need 3 Hoppers and have purchased the third to satisfy Dish requirements. Next oddity is that Dish is telling me only one HWS is allowed per household. My proposed equipment package now consists of two H2Ks and one HWS.

If I'm to believe the forum posts completely, the HWS contains better technology for faster executions. Why, as a new/returning customer, should I settle for potentially less of an "experience" on two boxes??

I have been in chat w/Dish till I'm slap-happy and ready to cancel the service call due soon. Wise ones, please explain what I can and cannot get away with here. Thanks

Last edited:
Dish will give new customers with good credit 1 HWS and 1 H2K and some Joeys for free. If you want the second to be HWS you have to pay, I think it's $50.

If you have a good local retailer that does their own installs you should call them for the best deal.

Let me provide more detail. I'm familiar with Hopper and Joey. I cannot use Joeys. I'm looking for an all-server install. I know about the special request for the 3rd Hopper and that is done. The 3rd is paid for. I'm being told that a more than one HWS system not allowed. Why they are forcing two H2Ks on me is baffling. I want the latest/greatest upfront, not in some upgrade promotion later. In other words, is there a way around to get three HWS in a new install? Again, I know about the special request bit to get three servers tied to the same account.