Dish will not lock on all 3 satellites

RV-Dish

Original poster
May 19, 2012
Ottawa
I am new to dish and have set up my satellite dish myself but I only receive 119W and 129W. I am missing 110W. I have a VIP-211K receiver and a dish 1000.2 with 3 LNB's. I have good signal on 129 at 71% a 63% on 119. The satelite screen shows a checkmark for 119 and 129 but only "conn" for 110W. I have made sure the mast is plumb all the way around. I have aldo done a check switch test and all appears to be fine. I have even tried aligning the dish onto each individual satellite 110, 119, and 129 and I can receive them all indivdually with signal strength in high 70's. I am located in a campground near ogdensburg, NY along the Canadian border so the signal is diverging quite a bit but Dish support tells me it should still work and to adjust my skew more. Still having trouble. Can anyone help me on this? Thanks!

Exactly what do you see on the Switch Check when you think the dish is aligned?

1 2 3
129 119 Conn?

Agreed with above... sounds like you're not getting the correct sat's with correct lnb's.... co-ords below from dish pointer for Ogdensburg...
If the mast is perfect plum, your skew should be exact to dishpointer info...
Start by setting skew and elevation to below, then you rotate dish till you get it.

Dish Setup Data
Latitude: 44.6942°
Longitude: -75.4863°
Name: Dish 1000.2 (110W, 119W, 129W)
Distance: 39259km
Elevation: 23.0°
Azimuth (true): 233.5°
Azimuth (magn.): 247.0°
Dish Skew [?]: 124.8°

Just to clarify.. by 'rotate' dish... I meant adjust azimuth... twist the dish on the pole.... leave the skew.

Last edited:
Cover the center feed horn with foil and see which slot disappears. If it is 129W, here's your sign. If it is 119W that drops out, you've probably got a faulty LNB assembly (though it is still possible that your skew is WAAAAYYYY off).

1) The info robstudio provied me for Ogdensvurg is what I have and it is not working for me.