Does Charter still have a package that only includes local channels?

Discussion in 'Charter Cable Forum' started by kovach, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. kovach

    kovach Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    And does that include the local RSN? And is it HD?
     
  2. Umatter2Charter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Good morning,

    We definitely have basic packages available that include locals only. To access HD you will either need a tv with a QAM tuner or a STB. I'm assuming by RSN you're referring to the regional sports network. These are generally carried on the expanded basic package. Was there anything else that we can assist with today?
     
  3. Umatter2Charter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Good afternoon,

    I just wanted to follow up to see if you had any other questions that we can assist with. Please let us know.
     
  4. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    If you have internet only from Charter, just split the line to your cable modem and scan it for open QAM. In most markets you will get all of the local channels in HD but no analog at all. (Same stuff you'd get with a OTA antenna).
     
  5. chad948

    chad948 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I just called up a Charter rep and he said they no longer offer local only packages because of the transition to digital. Is this accurate?
     
  6. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Most cable companies offer a "lifeline" plan.

    Do you current have internet though Charter? If so, split your cable modem line and scan it for QAM, you might have free digital locals depending on your market.
     
  7. chad948

    chad948 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Yes, I'm currently an internet only customer. I'll try that out, thanks.
     
  8. NotMe546

    NotMe546 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    30
    You may have to take off a filter for that to work.
     
  9. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Not in the market I was in. No analog cable came though but unencrypted QAM channels did. It all depends on the area's bandplan and the ranges of the traps they use.
     
  10. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    94,213
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    The back hills of Duluth, MN
    depends on the market but yes lifeline is still available
    My buddy checked with the local Charter location (Fergus Falls, MN) and yeah for $25 a month and a $20 activation fee they can.

    If they switch to all digital you would need a DTA (think OTA converter box but for cable...and dumber...no guide)
     
  11. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    94,213
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    The back hills of Duluth, MN
    chat I had with Charter about a month ago (my buddy kept getting the run-around...he finally got the right info recetnyl)

    you are currently number 1 in the queue... Thank you for your patience!...
    You have been connected to Joshua.

    Joshua: Thanks for giving me the opportunity to help you today! My name is Joshua and I'll be taking care of you. How can I help?

    me: I was trying to get some information on just getting cable. I moved to a new location and wanted just basic cable but the website doesnt list any pricing for that. I really dont need anything else but basic or lifeline cable.

    Joshua: Charter most affordable cable plan is TV Select and costs 59.99 per month + 5 per cable box.

    me: so there is nothing like lifeline cable available? When I look at the channel chart online there is a basic which is the locals and a few extra channels. I really don't need all the extra channels.

    Joshua: Our Basic package includes access to all your local channels such as news and government in your area. With channels such as NBC, ABC, CBS, just to name a few. This option does not require any box or additional equipment.

    Joshua: It will cost 24.99 per month for about 12-20 channels that can be picked up using a tv antenna in most cases.

    me: I can't use a tv antenna where i am. I am about 65-70 miles from the stations so none of them come in. So it would be 24.99 a month if I decided to go with that option then?

    Joshua: Plus a 19.99 install.

    me: ok. thank you for the information. I will think about it and probably call next week to order. I would be able to order by calling the main number on the website (1-877-581-3485)?

    Joshua: 888 438 2427 is our number but there are many numbers online

    me: ok thank you for the information. I really appreciate it
     
  12. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    18,096
    Likes Received:
    463
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    With Cox in CT you don't get the local QAM channels if you have internet only. That's how it works in my town anyway.
     
  13. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    WNC
    I thought cable companies had to leave local channels unscrambled?
     
  14. stardust3

    stardust3 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    200
    In the Tri Cities Charter is in the process of going 100% digital, supposed to be complete by July. No Box= no TV, every TV will need 1 regardless the level of video service.
     
  15. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    WNC
    Yea,one of the Charter guys that were here on my hsi install said they were working on that here.That said,I get several of the digital channels via clear qam.I'm sure they would love to make it impossible to get clear qam though.I'm not sure how the no box no service is going to work out.
     
  16. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,352
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    WNC
  17. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    18,096
    Likes Received:
    463
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Not if you don't subscribe to cable.
     
  18. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Your statement makes absolutely no sense. There is no way to have them encrypted or unencrypted per user/address. It's system wide.
     
  19. NotMe546

    NotMe546 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    30
    Well that's what optimum does with a trap (filter).
     
  20. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Texas
    Encrypting a digital stream of data and blocking the RF signal that stream is on are two totally different things.
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri