Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Does Charter still have a package that only includes local channels?

Discussion in 'Charter Cable Forum' started by kovach, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. kovach

    kovach Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    And does that include the local RSN? And is it HD?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. Umatter2Charter

    Umatter2Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning,

    We definitely have basic packages available that include locals only. To access HD you will either need a tv with a QAM tuner or a STB. I'm assuming by RSN you're referring to the regional sports network. These are generally carried on the expanded basic package. Was there anything else that we can assist with today?
     
    #2
  3. Umatter2Charter

    Umatter2Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good afternoon,

    I just wanted to follow up to see if you had any other questions that we can assist with. Please let us know.
     
    #3
  4. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you have internet only from Charter, just split the line to your cable modem and scan it for open QAM. In most markets you will get all of the local channels in HD but no analog at all. (Same stuff you'd get with a OTA antenna).
     
    #4
  5. chad948

    chad948 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just called up a Charter rep and he said they no longer offer local only packages because of the transition to digital. Is this accurate?
     
    #5
  6. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    4
    Most cable companies offer a "lifeline" plan.

    Do you current have internet though Charter? If so, split your cable modem line and scan it for QAM, you might have free digital locals depending on your market.
     
    #6
  7. chad948

    chad948 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm currently an internet only customer. I'll try that out, thanks.
     
    #7
  8. NotMe546

    NotMe546 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    12
    You may have to take off a filter for that to work.
     
    #8
  9. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not in the market I was in. No analog cable came though but unencrypted QAM channels did. It all depends on the area's bandplan and the ranges of the traps they use.
     
    #9
  10. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    91,808
    Likes Received:
    223
    depends on the market but yes lifeline is still available
    My buddy checked with the local Charter location (Fergus Falls, MN) and yeah for $25 a month and a $20 activation fee they can.

    If they switch to all digital you would need a DTA (think OTA converter box but for cable...and dumber...no guide)
     
    #10
  11. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    91,808
    Likes Received:
    223
    chat I had with Charter about a month ago (my buddy kept getting the run-around...he finally got the right info recetnyl)

    you are currently number 1 in the queue... Thank you for your patience!...
    You have been connected to Joshua.

    Joshua: Thanks for giving me the opportunity to help you today! My name is Joshua and I'll be taking care of you. How can I help?

    me: I was trying to get some information on just getting cable. I moved to a new location and wanted just basic cable but the website doesnt list any pricing for that. I really dont need anything else but basic or lifeline cable.

    Joshua: Charter most affordable cable plan is TV Select and costs 59.99 per month + 5 per cable box.

    me: so there is nothing like lifeline cable available? When I look at the channel chart online there is a basic which is the locals and a few extra channels. I really don't need all the extra channels.

    Joshua: Our Basic package includes access to all your local channels such as news and government in your area. With channels such as NBC, ABC, CBS, just to name a few. This option does not require any box or additional equipment.

    Joshua: It will cost 24.99 per month for about 12-20 channels that can be picked up using a tv antenna in most cases.

    me: I can't use a tv antenna where i am. I am about 65-70 miles from the stations so none of them come in. So it would be 24.99 a month if I decided to go with that option then?

    Joshua: Plus a 19.99 install.

    me: ok. thank you for the information. I will think about it and probably call next week to order. I would be able to order by calling the main number on the website (1-877-581-3485)?

    Joshua: 888 438 2427 is our number but there are many numbers online

    me: ok thank you for the information. I really appreciate it
     
    #11
  12. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    218
    With Cox in CT you don't get the local QAM channels if you have internet only. That's how it works in my town anyway.
     
    #12
  13. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,178
    Likes Received:
    90
    I thought cable companies had to leave local channels unscrambled?
     
    #13
  14. stardust3

    stardust3 SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    4,545
    Likes Received:
    47
    In the Tri Cities Charter is in the process of going 100% digital, supposed to be complete by July. No Box= no TV, every TV will need 1 regardless the level of video service.
     
    #14
  15. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,178
    Likes Received:
    90
    Yea,one of the Charter guys that were here on my hsi install said they were working on that here.That said,I get several of the digital channels via clear qam.I'm sure they would love to make it impossible to get clear qam though.I'm not sure how the no box no service is going to work out.
     
    #15
  16. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,178
    Likes Received:
    90
    #16
  17. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,264
    Likes Received:
    218
    Not if you don't subscribe to cable.
     
    #17
  18. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    4
    Your statement makes absolutely no sense. There is no way to have them encrypted or unencrypted per user/address. It's system wide.
     
    #18
  19. NotMe546

    NotMe546 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well that's what optimum does with a trap (filter).
     
    #19
  20. TheTechGuru

    TheTechGuru Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Posts:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    4
    Encrypting a digital stream of data and blocking the RF signal that stream is on are two totally different things.
     
    #20

Share This Page