Edges cut off of 16x9 HD channels

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by EmpireState, May 13, 2008.

  1. EmpireState

    EmpireState Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I'm watching CNN HD and on the left and right side of the wide screen the election result info graphics are cut off so I can't read them. I've been noticing this a lot with other HD channels where the logo in the corner is right on the edge of the screen or even cut off a little bit. The Smithsonian and Travel Channel HD logos are doing this. I thought maybe it was my TV, but the TV2 output to the 4:3 television shows the cut-off too, even when output as 16x9.

    Is there any way to adjust this or is everyone seeing what I'm seeing. Check CNN HD and let me know if your left and right side graphics are cut off just a little so you can't see the full Delegate counts.

    -thanks
     
    #1
  2. noremac

    noremac Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it safe to assume that you have the 'format' correct? If not, try pressing the (*) key on the remote to cycle through the options.
     
    #2
  3. EmpireState

    EmpireState Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Posts:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the format is correct. It does it even when I choose an incorrect aspect ratio and can see the edges of the picture within the boundaries of the screen. The ends are slightly cropped on CNN HD and ESPN News HD. I can't see all the type in the side graphics, there's always one column of letters being cut off.
     
    #3
  4. 8bitbytes

    8bitbytes SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your rear projection tv uses "overscan". Set it so that there is no overscan.
     
    #4
  5. vegassatellite

    vegassatellite SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,160
    Likes Received:
    29
    That's it right there. Might need to have your TV calibrated by a professional.
     
    #5
  6. VegasVoomer

    VegasVoomer Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    587
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm noticed the same thing last night on my CRT tube Sony. First thing I thought of was I gotta get this thing calibrated.
     
    #6
  7. StLouis99

    StLouis99 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this same problem, and messed with TV settings for quite a while. The fix was too simple - I just had to use the original TV remote's curser to move the picture to the center of the screen.
    (I found this on the FAQ of the TV model's website - maybe try your TV manufacturer / model website )
     
    #7
    Last edited: May 14, 2008
VigLink badge
Sucuri