ESPN 3 avialability for DISH Netwrok Customers

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by singhnx01, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. singhnx01

    singhnx01 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know there are other threads about ESPN 3. I want to start this thread for our fellow dish network customers to submit request here and one of DIRT member can forward our request to Dish management. We want the capability to access ESPN 3, ESPN and ESPN 2 through online www.watchESPN.com by logging in with DISH log in.
     
    #1
  2. king3pj

    king3pj SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    53
    ESPN3.com is usually through your ISP. I thought almost all of them offered it now.
     
    #2
  3. yaz96

    yaz96 Baby, It's Cold Outside
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    12,832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, that's through your internet provider, not TV provider.
     
    #3
  4. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    142
    The app allows access to the entire ESPN family of networks, you only get ESPN 3 access if your ISP is a participating provider, and requires authentication. Currently there are only 3 providers setup to allow access and it would be nice if Dish were added to this, but I am guessing this will get held up along with the ESPNU in HD because of the dispute with Disney
     
    #4
  5. sethwell

    sethwell Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't know how many emails i have sent to Centurylink(formally Centurytel) asking for this to be added. we are a small town of 4K but Centurylink is our phone/ISP and have many locations in various states yet the little town 10 miles from us has its own Telco with may 700-1000 customers and they have it! lol crazy
     
    #5
  6. drdroo

    drdroo PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a double edged sword for me. I have Time Warner for Internet and Dish for TV. I should qualify under Time Warner, but their system says if I don't get ESPN through cable, I don't get ESPN3. At the same time I get ESPN through Dish Network but I don't get ESPN3.

    I'm not going to switch to TW for worse programming and fewer channels just so appease these folks.
     
    #6
  7. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,495
    Likes Received:
    368
    Qwest never had it either and now they're part of the Centurylink conglomerate. Sucks here too
     
    #7
  8. gokamoto

    gokamoto Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have U-Verse for internet and Dish for TV and get ESPN3 access. TV-only U-Verse has a really good price, so I'm happy with my combo.
     
    #8
  9. juan

    juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    8,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    works just dandy on Comcast Internet (I'm kinda surprised on this one) I have Dish network..no cable TV
     
    #9
  10. isaacmorseMI

    isaacmorseMI SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    4,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe Time Warner/ Bright House is the only provider that requires a TV subscription in order for you to get ESPN3.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using the SatelliteGuys App
     
    #10
  11. Slamminc11

    Slamminc11 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4,064
    Likes Received:
    24
    so, since the access to ESPN3 is thru your ISP and not thru Dish, the point of this thread is pretty much moot since there isn't anything Dish can do except become and ISP and then they could offer it to you. Who knows, maybe Charlie is planning that as well...
     
    #11
  12. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9,177
    Likes Received:
    83
    At some levels, that appears exactly what he's trying to do.
     
    #12
  13. kalin21

    kalin21 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Verizon FIOS Internet and Dish for TV,, but espn3 don't let me watch espn1 and esp2..it says I have to subscribe to FIOS TV....
     
    #13
  14. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    142
    The thread title is a little misleading. What would be nice is for Dish to become one of the providers that can authorize viewing of ESPN, ESPN 2 and ESPN U via the website and ipad/iphone apps. ESPN 3 viewing is dependent upon an affiliated ISP, but viewing the other ESPN family of channels is dependent upon being able to confirm authorization thru a video provider. Right now there are only 3 video providers setup to allow viewing the regular ESPN networks live online.
     
    #14
  15. nrholland

    nrholland Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Posts:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    That'd be nice if he could get into the bundle business where he provides tv, phone, and internet.
     
    #15
  16. elhung

    elhung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish they provided Gol Tv again
     
    #16
VigLink badge
Sucuri