Firmware update for 722

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by sjvirchow, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Is there a way to manually check for new firmware for my ViP 722 DVR, or does it do it automatically?
     
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9,505
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    You'll likely hear about a new firmware release here well in advance of receiving it.

    There is one in the mill now (L763) and your receiver will pick it up when it becomes available by ID number (and not before).
     
  3. MattG@ DISH NETWORK

    MattG@ DISH NETWORK Official DISH Network Support
    DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    If you run a check switch test, then shut off the receiver, it will check for any software updates. You do need to leave the receiver off for it to check. Other then that, your receiver will automatically get any update at 3 AM if we have anything.
     
  4. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,403
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Pressing the menu buttin twice will show you what's currently running. Next in line will be L673
     
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    33,338
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So any hints as to what might be in the next release?
     
  6. MattG@ DISH NETWORK

    MattG@ DISH NETWORK Official DISH Network Support
    DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Doesn't look like anything major, just bug fixes.
     
  7. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,403
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
  8. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    33,338
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Northern VA
    What! Bugs? ;)

    The ONE bug that bothers me is the inconsistent skip back. But I doubt that will be "going away" before Tivo "goes away."
     
  9. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,714
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    surfin SATGUYS in a round room with padded walls
    Other forums may repost these software release notes if they include a "Release notes provided by DISHsupport.COM" with them. :D:D
     
  10. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    33,338
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Well, those were "brief." Not even a full tweet, I'd estimate. Oh well, mine are running PDG anyway so I have little to complain about.
     
  11. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Welcome To SatelliteGuys!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    86,636
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    I posted what DISH sent me. :)
     
  12. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,403
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Good thing I didn't repost the notes, huh? :D
     
  13. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    My 722 is still on L672 so I hope I get it soon. I like to be up to date. :D
     
  14. Dirtydan

    Dirtydan Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Susanville,Ca.
    There is supposed to be a fix for the HDMI handshake problem, if it's not in 673, I hope it is soooon.
    Dan
     
  15. Frank7004

    Frank7004 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Im on 680
     
  16. cosmo_kramer

    cosmo_kramer Master of my Domain
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11,900
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    41.605N, -72.879W
    The "exit folder" issue bothers me....
     
  17. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    33,338
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Yep, that too. But I encounter the "skip back" problem several times every day.
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri