Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Firmware update for 722

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by sjvirchow, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to manually check for new firmware for my ViP 722 DVR, or does it do it automatically?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8,937
    Likes Received:
    54
    You'll likely hear about a new firmware release here well in advance of receiving it.

    There is one in the mill now (L763) and your receiver will pick it up when it becomes available by ID number (and not before).
     
    #2
  3. MattG@ DISH NETWORK

    MattG@ DISH NETWORK Official DISH Network Support DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10
    If you run a check switch test, then shut off the receiver, it will check for any software updates. You do need to leave the receiver off for it to check. Other then that, your receiver will automatically get any update at 3 AM if we have anything.
     
    #3
  4. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    32
    Pressing the menu buttin twice will show you what's currently running. Next in line will be L673
     
    #4
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,244
    Likes Received:
    348
    So any hints as to what might be in the next release?
     
    #5
  6. MattG@ DISH NETWORK

    MattG@ DISH NETWORK Official DISH Network Support DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Posts:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10
    Doesn't look like anything major, just bug fixes.
     
    #6
  7. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    32
    #7
  8. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,244
    Likes Received:
    348
    What! Bugs? ;)

    The ONE bug that bothers me is the inconsistent skip back. But I doubt that will be "going away" before Tivo "goes away."
     
    #8
  9. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,667
    Likes Received:
    12
    Other forums may repost these software release notes if they include a "Release notes provided by DISHsupport.COM" with them. :D:D
     
    #9
  10. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,244
    Likes Received:
    348
    Well, those were "brief." Not even a full tweet, I'd estimate. Oh well, mine are running PDG anyway so I have little to complain about.
     
    #10
  11. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Welcome To SatelliteGuys! Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    84,478
    Likes Received:
    710
    I posted what DISH sent me. :)
     
    #11
  12. dahenny

    dahenny SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    32
    Good thing I didn't repost the notes, huh? :D
     
    #12
  13. sjvirchow

    sjvirchow Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Posts:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 722 is still on L672 so I hope I get it soon. I like to be up to date. :D
     
    #13
  14. Dirtydan

    Dirtydan Active SatelliteGuys Member Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    3
    There is supposed to be a fix for the HDMI handshake problem, if it's not in 673, I hope it is soooon.
    Dan
     
    #14
  15. Frank7004

    Frank7004 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im on 680
     
    #15
  16. cosmo_kramer

    cosmo_kramer Master of my Domain Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    11,556
    Likes Received:
    150
    The "exit folder" issue bothers me....
     
    #16
  17. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014! Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    31,244
    Likes Received:
    348
    Yep, that too. But I encounter the "skip back" problem several times every day.
     
    #17

Share This Page