G-16/3848, please tell me what I'm doing wrong

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by kb0lcr, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. kb0lcr

    kb0lcr Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm sure I'm doing something stupid here, hoping someone recognizes my mistake and can help me. I've got an OpenBox S10, dish pointed at G-16 (99W). I rescanned transponder 3848 and it scans 6 channels. When I exit the menu I only see 4 of the 6 channels. According to lyngsat, I'm missing 769 (NBC Virgin Islands) and 2049 (Fox Aguadilla). I double-checked to make sure I wasn't looking at a favorites list or anything like that. I'm in the "All" channel list.

    I figured maybe I could manually add the channels, so I dumped TP_PROG.dbs to a thumb drive, went to my computer, renamed, etc, and opened in AliEditor. Here's where it got strange. The 2 "missing" channels ARE listed properly in AliEditor. I don't know if there's some flag on the channels that my receiver doesn't like... or if there's something wrong with my receiver, or what in the world is wrong.

    The only difference I noticed is that these two channels are listed with the H264 flag set as H264, whereas the other 4 channels are set as MPEG2. However, I do have other channels in my channel list with H264 flag set and they seem to work fine. Any ideas, or questions? Sorry if I haven't provided enough information.

    Thanks!
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4,950
    Likes Received:
    94
    My S9 did the same thing. I created another transponder with the same freq and polarity, but changed the SR a few digits. (maybe offset by 10) I put those h264 channels on this transponder. NOTE: use a non existant Service ID or the stream, or a scan will defeat it.
    Can't remember if I "Had To" remove the channels from the original list. But sure I did.
     
    #2
  3. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4,950
    Likes Received:
    94
    Come to think about it, the S9 was fine with only one h264 stream on the TP. Then noticed one day that a channel was missing. Well what went missing was the original h264 channel. Disappeared when they added the second h264 channel.
    I HAD thought that the channel 'went missing'/ was removed, until I read somewhere about a 'hidden channel' on the TP. That's when I looked at TP_PROG with the editor, and saw the 2 h264 channels. Head scratching ensued. Tried repeatedly to get it to work on one TP list. Gave up and slept on it, and came up with the work around.
    I wonder if there's any others 'missing' in the same fashion?????
     
    #3
  4. kb0lcr

    kb0lcr Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for the quick reply. I'll try that in a little while (the mrs. is watching a show right now).
     
    #4

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri