galaxy 19

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by BEATLE, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm trying to find galaxy 19...right now my viewsat 2000 ultra is locked on nimiq1..i use that for a starting point ....now....do i move my dish to the west of nimiq1 ..or east..its a motorized dish that use to have galaxy 19 programmed on it ...so i figure if i move it either way east or west ...then i should pick up a signal for galaxy 19...am i coreect?...or do i have to have specific settings to find it..thanks
     
    #1
  2. turbosat

    turbosat SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    8,871
    Likes Received:
    9
    g19 is west of g17, 97 degrees vs 91. Have you not set up the motor? It should zoom right to it, if you have the dish aimed and USALS set up. Of course if you don't have any programming in the receiver, I think you could just move manually east and west and blind scan every now and then, if you like.
     
    #2
  3. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    the motors working and i have nimiq 1 programming buts its all scrambled i just want to lock on to galaxy 19... soooooo...if i move my dish west 6 degrees...i should pick up a saignal...right?...or do i have to put in some kind of settings for galaxy 19?...i had gal19 a while back and accidently deleted everything and now i'm trying to get it back and now when i move it west i dont get a sinal or quality at all...i must be doing something wrong and how would it zoom right to it ...please let me know ...any help....thanks so much in advance
     
    #3
  4. upnatm

    upnatm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    A good strong Ku transponder to start with on 97w Galaxy-19 is; 12152 H 20000 3/4 .

    From 91W to 97W is westward.

    What size is your dish
    ? I believe that 90cm (3ft) is minimum for this bird.
    Are you using a linear LNB? You won't see that bird without one.

    Set your "LNB Frequency" to 10750 MHz, and enter whatever "type" LNB you're using, do the
    same for any switches you may have in the system. Better yet, remove any switches, and run
    your cable directly from the motor to your STB, (add switches after successful alignment).

    (Nimiq-1 is circular polarization, and uses LNB Freq. 11250 MHz).

    If your dish & motor are set up properly, and geographic co-ordinates are accurate, USALS
    should bring you to a signal using those numbers. If not, switch to manual and bump the
    motor east & west in the general area that USALS first moved the dish to.

    You should be able to find it. Cheers.
     
    #4
  5. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi upnatm ...i had galaxy 19 before but accidently lost it by playing around with the buttons and somehow deleted everything..its a quad polar legacy lnb with a 33 inch dish..i'm getting a signal but when i go to scan ...nothings locking in to where i can download the channels..it must be in my settings...thanks
     
    #5
  6. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    everything should be set up properly ..its just finding it with the right settings ..i did do what you told me ..by moving the dish west with the 10750 mhz and 12152 trans ..i'm getting a signal but cant get them to lock in
     
    #6
  7. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4,989
    Likes Received:
    102
    When moving the dish looking for Lock and Quality, make small incremental movements, and wait a few seconds for the receiver to lock on and display Quality. It is not instantaneous. 5 to 10 seconds is not out of reason.
     
    #7
  8. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i move my dish west from nimiq 1...i get a signal but when i go to scan the sats ..it doesnt scan ...just shows failed...
     
    #8
  9. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    my settings are:
    sat...galaxy 19
    lnb power ......on
    lnb type........standard
    lnb freq.......10750
    22khz..........off
    tp freq..........12152
    discq..............none
    motor............installer
    legacy sw..........none
     
    #9
  10. upnatm

    upnatm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Beatle, I just googled "quad polar legacy lnb" and found your LNB to be
    an Invacom QPH-031, is this correct?

    If so, I think you'll have to go and move the cable from the "C" connection to
    an "L" connection at the LNB itself.. The L and C stand for Linear and Circular.

    Always turn the STB power OFF when dis/reconnecting cables!

    You mentioned that you can tune into Nimiq-1 (circular), but not G-19 (linear), so
    it sounds like A: you have a DisEqc switch, but it's not configured properly in the
    receiver, or B: you don't have a switch, and the cable is connected to a "circular"
    port at the LNB.

    Your cabling sequence should be; LNB"C", to motor, to Viewsat.

    A DisEqc switch in the circuit would "switch" the signals between circular and linear, it is
    the receiver that "tells" the switch what to do.
    The switches are set up in the "DisEqc" part of the antenna setup menu. I suggested
    you bypass any DisEqc switches (remove and replace with a barrel connector), until
    you have locked and scanned the bird, then go ahead and figure out the switches later.

    I think you'll find that there is very little to watch on Ku Circular anyways.

    Here is the link to what I found on the LNB hXXp://www.sat-sales.com/documents/Tele-satellitetestreportJuly05.pdf

    There are lots of posts on configuring the switches too, but lets get you scanning G-19 first.

    Keep trying, you'll get it! Cheers.
     
    #10
  11. upnatm

    upnatm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oops, I didn't see your latest post before submitting.

    Now, two things where I can't be much help at, 1; my Invacom QPH-031
    has been sitting on the shelf for a while now, and 2; I've never used a Viewsat.

    I've forgotten exactly what settings are needed to make them work, as I'm using
    a different receiver since I used that LNB.

    But for starters, look into which port you're on at the LNB.

    I've gotta run, I'll check in later.
     
    #11
  12. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont understand why i would have to change anything at the lnb ...i use to get galaxy 19.with everything the same as i have now ....so it should all be the same ...i did a fact default and since then i cant find it ...thanks..i get a signal when i move the dish from nimiq 1 west to my first signal..but when i scan that sat ..it doesnt lock on ...says failed ...i'm so close to finding it ...its so frustrating ......thanks
     
    #12
  13. jsattv

    jsattv Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beatle set Motor = USALS, & if you are using a DisEQC Switch chose the proper Port ie Port 1 - 4 on your ViewSat Receiver Antenna Settings. Do you have a setting for Search Option? If so set it to ALL. Hope this helps.
     
    #13
  14. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    now i just picked up echostar 4 at 77west?at least thats what it tells me it is ...a few international channels ..never heard of that one before..i just dont know why galaxy 19 wont pick up...
     
    #14
  15. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm picking up a channel on whatever sat i scan ...channel 500..(.cana) ...anyone know what sat that is?now if i can only find glaxy 19 like i did that one ....by accident ....i'd e e
     
    #15
  16. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have nimiq 1..so if i want gal 19....i go west from there nimiq 1 6 degrees ...about how many bumps is 6 degrees and what settings do i use to pick it up?./...thanks
     
    #16
  17. upnatm

    upnatm Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems you are only seeing circular polarity signals because of the factory reset.

    The reset would have erased all of the switch settings in the DisEQC part of the
    antenna setup menu. This has nothing to do with the "way" the motor is commanded.
    eg; USALS or DisEQC 1.2. What it does, is operates the switch, to give the STB the linear
    signal or the circular signal.

    Each sat must be setup individually, as per the signal polarity, and what port it is on at
    the switch (each port is numbered right on the switch itself).
    You might want to trace your cables to see "what is where", out there between the LNB
    and the switch, in order to get settings proper

    Quote;
    my settings are:
    sat...galaxy 19
    lnb power ......on
    lnb type........standard
    lnb freq.......10750
    22khz..........off
    tp freq..........12152
    discq..............none <------<< here is where you do your switch settings on each different satellite..
    motor............installer
    legacy sw..........none


    Who knows?, maybe you have a bad cable from the linear port of the LNB to the switch.
     
    #17
  18. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    bad cable?...would i be picking up nimiq 1 with a bad cable?...thanks
     
    #18
  19. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    and my switch outside by the dish has a cable in lnb 1 and a cable lnb 2
     
    #19
  20. BEATLE

    BEATLE Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    i like watching russia today on galaxy 19 ...its like the cnn of europe...thats why i want gal 19 back
     
    #20
VigLink badge
Sucuri