Globecast / FTA options

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by ghia, Jan 19, 2006.

  1. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have purchased the system from Globecast to subscribe to Setanta sports. It is being shipped. I would like to expand the system to allow me to recieve FTA programming from Echo8 (GOL) ECHO7 (NASA) as well as the channels on G10R. Would it be possible to use a motor with the Globecast .75 meter elliptical dish ? I would like to order the motor so when the Globecast system arrives I will be ready to install everything.

    I will be disconnecting my direct service and have a triple lnb 18"x20" phase 3 dish. (this is the dish
    http://www.dishstore.net/product_info.php?cPath=38&products_id=130 )
    Could this be incorporated into the system to receive GOL and NASA?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    The DirecTV Phase III dish is no good for FTA, it will work as a regular single dish as the switch will default to the 101w satellite only.

    The Globecast dish could be motorized but its heavy.
    I would suggest a regular 30" dish with a motor and an Invacom QPH-031 LNBF, this will work for everything you need.
     
    #2
  3. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply (again) I guess I can just take the old direct dish down then.
     
    #3
  4. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you go for the above suggestion one Dish and one LNBF will do it all!
     
    #4
  5. wicked

    wicked Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello im anotherone with the same question. How about the receiver? can i get both Setanta and the Free to air programming on the E* satellites with the same receiver? off course i mean of a LEGAL way!!!
     
    #5
  6. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a motorized system using a QPH-031 LNBF yes, not all at the same time of course, you would have to motor from satellite to satellite. The Invacom QPH-031 will handle both linear and circular satellites!

    And there is a version of the Fortec Classic NA that will do both FTA and Globecast PAY programing.
     
    #6
  7. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called globecast to see if they would just sell me the smart card, they would not and pointed me to the agreement on the web site, which states such. Otherwise I would have went that route. I did find that you can get the receiver/dish for $160 if you mention that you saw the add on the Setanta webiste. (Assuming that you want that channel)
     
    #7
  8. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    True you could always get the Globecast system then put the card in the Fortec, but it is a lot of money not to use their receiver.
     
    #8
  9. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will keep this in mind maybe I can upgrade later. I thought the receiver was"married" to the card somehow.
     
    #9
  10. satmaster

    satmaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be advised that the receiver they send may just be a FTA receiver with a card in it. Look for a setup where you can add other FTA channels.
    The ones they used to ship from ABS-CBN for the Filipino channels were just FTA receivers with A CAM slot and a card. They had a manual setup menu where you could add more channels. Setup was 100% manual with no scan but it did receive FTA.
    Let us know what kind of receiver they send.


    Also the Phase III LNB you have was specialy built to mix only the DTV channels together from 2 DTV satellites to create a new simulated satellite signal. It removes all the Dishnetwork channels and passes only the DTV ones.
    It does this when it receives a 22Khz signal so its useless for anything but DTV.
    When the 22Khz signal is off its just like a single LNB.

    Suggest you sell it to someone who wants HDTV or needs it for locals.
     
    #10
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2006
  11. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been thinking that maybe I will just get another receiver and a motorized dish for the fta stuff and use the globecast stuff by itself. That would at least allow me to not have to wait for a motorized dish to turn back to IA5 for setanta. Plus I would get the practice of setting up a fixed dish before I try a motorized one. Hopefully I can get some cash for my old direct setup to apply to another system.
     
    #11
  12. neil_kc1

    neil_kc1 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a globecast receiver off e-bay and had absolutely no problems slaving it to my other receivers, Satwork 3688 or Fortec ultra lifetime, to move my dish. Globecast was good enough to re-activate the smart card that came with it at no extra charge, and allow me to subscribe to setanta sports. then sent me an updated smart card. (blue) and offered to upgrade the software on the receiver and the only cost to me was postage to send it to them. The globecast was a model de997. By the time i got it back my subscription to setanta had lapsed. I used it with a wingard 76 dish and an ivacon .o3 lnb. because it does not blind or smart search you have to enter the transponder freq, and sr manually. but you can use it on multiple satellites.
     
    #12
  13. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    followup / micro globecast review

    I received the Globecast system and decided to use it as a stand alone before try a motorized system. The system setup was fairly painless. (Thanks to the tons of info on this site) I currently get between 51 and 63 % signal strength and 50 to 67 signal quality. The picture looks fine, although the manual and onscreen prompts state that 70% should be the minimum. The receiver had all of the globecast stuff already entered (of course) but I was able to enter transponder freq, and sr manually to add a few more free channels. You can also rename the satellites and store multiple favortites on differnt catagories. It has favorites for both audio and video. I beleive that this link is the receiver that globecast is using except that it has the globecast brand on it.

    */I had to take the link out as I was not allow to post it The company is Eastern Electronics model SE830/*

    I was surprised that the dish was as light as it was considering its size. (This is the first system I have hooked up so the dish could be heavy compared to others) The remote for the system seems a bit lightweight/cheap but it works fine and has good range and angle. It also has a dedicated button on it that will bring up an OSD for the signal stength and quality for the current channel you are viewing without having to go through a bunch of menus. This info is also available by hitting the info button and scrolling. There is a audio/video button as well that will let you quickly change between audio or video channel mode/lists. It has a lnb out on the receiver so I assume I could slave another receiver with that.
    I purchased this system so I could subscribe to setanta. I had this channel on Direct and i think the picture quality is better with the globecast system. I am using the svideo and the coax digital for audio (the same as with the direct system) it does have the standard rca connections for audio and video as well. As a bonus I found a few English language FTA channels along with a bunch of audio channels by using the lyngsat site.
    I had fun with this and plan on purchasing a motorized dish and receiver in a month or so. I may leave the globecast dish up but not sure about that yet. I am leaning toward the COOLSAT 5000, mainly based of the review by ICEBERG here, though the Ariza Xtreme looks intersting as well. Maybe someone here will review that unit
     
    #13
  14. rangers00

    rangers00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Globecast receiver can be used for FTA programming. I use it to get both Setanta and TV Azetca on IA6.

    If you want Setanta and GolTV, why bother with a motor? Get another 18" dish that points to echostar 110, a circular LNBF, and use a DiSEQC switch. It takes less than 5 minutes to setup. Such a dish and LNBF can be had from Ebay for $30-$40.

    And a motor won't work, because the LNBF for Echostar 110 and IA5 are different, unless you want to go down and replace your LNBF everytime you change from GolTV to Setanta and vice versa...

    And people who want Globecast service should look at used receivers before they buy a brand new system from Globecast. Used systems can be had very cheap. I got mine for around $60, with the card. Last summer, GermanTV was moving away from Globecast to Dish Network. Lots of German TV subscribers were dumping their receivers. That's how I got mine.
     
    #14
  15. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could always use a QPH-031 LNBF for both Linear and Circular signals! (Not on a Globecast dish)
     
    #15
  16. rangers00

    rangers00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    A dual mode LNBF is nice, but it cost $77.00 (on your site), not including shipping. And using a one-dish/dual mode LNBF solution, you need an SG-2100 motor, which cost $70 with shipping from Ebay at the lowest. So we are talking about a $150-$160 solution.

    A 2nd dish with LNBF + DiSeQC switch from Ebay, even with shipping, costs only $40 - $45. If you can find something local and skip the shpping, it's a $20 solution tops.
     
    #16
  17. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not suggest they buy from me (All my prices are SHIPPED :) )

    Rather if someone is looking for any FTA equipment they should visit our GOLD sponsers at the top of the page, rather than flee-bay.

    PLEASE SUPPORT THE PEOPLE WHO SUPPORT US HERE AT SATELLITEGUYS.US

    Never know maybe soon :tux: :p :D :rolleyes: ;) :cool: will be sponsors here too ;)
     
    #17
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  18. ghia

    ghia Thread Starter Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    The original plan was to try to incorporate my existing direct dish to receive GOL and NASA but I have since learned it was not a good candidate for that, and have become interested in receiving much more fta as well.

    To try to clear things up a bit. I was thinking of either 1. leaving the dedicated globecast dish up for the Setanta channel and getting a second receiver and motorized dish with the QPH-031 LNBF. (This would allow me to allways have setanta on without regard for what I was doing with the other receiver. I could watch GOLTV on one receiver and Setenta on the Globecst receiver at the same time :cool: and also allow me to watch/scan other satellites such as G10R, etc. I am very interested in purchasing a receiver with blind scan, it looks like that would be half of the fun with these systems.) or 2. Just using one motorized dish with the QPH-031 LNBF and connect both receivers to the same dish. (I will probably will not do that since I already have the globecast dish installed)

    I did watch for a used globecast receiver for a few weeks, but the risk with purchasing a used receiver/ dish, shipping from an unkown person without seeing it first did not seem worth it to me. Another factor to consider is that if there is a blance on the smart card you get with a used system you will have to purchase another card for $75 or pay the balance on the used one. As I mentioned I got the $160 receiver and dish package through the setanta promotion.

    I also wanted the experience of setting up the non motorized system.

    The globecast receiver will do FTA as I mentioned I was able to enter transponder freq, and sr manually to add a few more free channels that were not preprgrammed globecast channels albeit still on IA5.

    I did not see anywhere to specify L or R Polarity for circular LNB on the globecast receiver, only H and V for Linear. So I am unsure if I could use the 18" dish / circular lnb even if I wanted to.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
     
    #18
  19. PSB

    PSB On vacation

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    H = L = 17v

    V = R = 13 v
     
    #19
  20. rangers00

    rangers00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    All FTA receivers/PCI card can be used to get FTA programming from DBS band, i.e. Dish Network or Bell Expressvu. Just set the L.O.B. frequency to 11250 instead of the usual 10750. As PSB said,

    L=H & R=V

    I just remember it as L is closer to H and R is closer to V in the alphabets.
     
    #20
VigLink badge
Sucuri