H25-100 with SD Dish?

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by DMJ, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. DMJ

    DMJ Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I use two H25-100 receivers with a 3LNB SD dish? not sure which model but dish is about 6 years old. Obviously I'm not expecting HD pictures but that's not a problem.

    If they will not play together what dish do I need to buy?
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    H25 receivers are SWM only and will NOT work.
     
    #2
  3. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    Slimline with a SL3 OR SL5 depending on what programming you have.Don't forget you will also need a power inserter.
     
    #3
  4. DMJ

    DMJ Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick response. I have the Total Choice Package HD.

    Can you please expalin the power inserter, what is it? where does it go?

    Can I upgrade the existing dish?
     
    #4
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  5. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
  6. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,061
    Likes Received:
    261
    The PI is in the house and can go anywhere in line. I have mine in the bedroom receiver out of the way (didnt want to take up a power spot in the living room)
     
    #6
  7. DMJ

    DMJ Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    So do I need the SL3 or SL5 dish for Total Choice Package HD?

    Does the splitter have to be indoors? Might be tricky given existing wiring.
     
    #7
  8. Mikewj50

    Mikewj50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to pay the extra $10 a month for hd access
     
    #8
  9. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    If only using one receiver the splitter is not needed just run the PI inline as Ice mentioned. The SL3 would most likely work and maybe even easier to point for you.
     
    #9
  10. Mikewj50

    Mikewj50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    And all the listed equipment listed above,depending on if it's an mpeg4 market the SL3 or the SL5 with kaku,power inserted,swim splitters,etc..
     
    #10
  11. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
    just re read and noticed you did say 2 and no the splitter can be outside.
     
    #11
  12. DMJ

    DMJ Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two receivers so I'll need the splitter - can it go outside?
     
    #12
  13. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,673
    Likes Received:
    16
  14. DMJ

    DMJ Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys - so it looks like SL3, splitter and a PI.
     
    #14
  15. caseyf57

    caseyf57 Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello DMJ,

    One thing to remember is that even properly weatherized equipment placed outdoors will give problems in the future and will require replacement due to being outdoors. Connectors are usually the first point to check but everything outdoors should be checked to see what may be going bad and corrected as soon as possible.
     
    #15
  16. SA Holly Springs GA

    SA Holly Springs GA Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Posts:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    SL3/SL5 are not SWM lnbs (4 outputs)

    SL3S/SL5S are SWM lnbs (1 output)
     
    #16

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri