HD DVR Goes into Screen Saver mode - how to turn off?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by iafirebuff, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. iafirebuff

    iafirebuff Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Iowa
    One of my HD DVRs goes into the screen saver mode for no apparent reason. How can I turn this off? I can't find it any where in the menus. THANKS!
     
  2. FED-UP-INSTALLER

    FED-UP-INSTALLER PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Posts:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    press select - tmk only goes screen saver in menus
     
  3. iafirebuff

    iafirebuff Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Iowa
    Thanks - the screen saver comes on while watching tv - no menus. It does it a few times a week. very annoying :)
     
  4. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,366
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    It comes on when paused or while watching live? If its coming on while live, thats wrong.
     
  5. iafirebuff

    iafirebuff Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Iowa
    yes - it comes on while watching live tv.
     
  6. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,366
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    Should not be doing that, not that Ive ever seen. Have you tried a menu reset?
     
  7. yorktown

    yorktown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    General Location
    I've never had the screen saver come on during tv watching, only when it's paused.
     
  8. iafirebuff

    iafirebuff Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Iowa
    I know...it does it on both of our receivers....I figured there must have been a software update recently as it just started one day a few weeks ago.
     
  9. crazywater

    crazywater Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does happen because it has happened to me as well, last night to be exact. While watching TV all of a sudden the screen saver pops on. Hitting any key brings the picture back. Obviously this behavior is a bug and needs to be addressed.
     
  10. gadgtfreek

    gadgtfreek SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Posts:
    19,366
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    Thats a big issue then. Are you SW 368 or 369?
     
  11. iafirebuff

    iafirebuff Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    4,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waterloo, Iowa
    Well the problem was gone for awhile. Now it is back with a twist - now while watching a recorded program the receiver turned channels on me. THe remote was 10 foot away form anyone so it was not accidentially hit. Hmmm....
     
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri