Help needed aiming D1000.2 Eastern Arc

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by HenryTS77, May 6, 2012.

  1. HenryTS77

    HenryTS77 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok - I recently purchased a Dish Network VIP 222K (dual tuner model) with a D1000.2 dish with Eastern Arc setup. I have had Dish Network receivers before and have used their Aiming Dish function to aim the Dish. However with the VIP 222K it comes with a "Setup Wizard" which insists on downloading a software update BEFORE it will allow me to to do anything but if I can't aim the Dish how do I get the software update :mad: . Is there anyway around this stupid setup wizard or am I stuck getting a meter ( not locally - the only ones that have one one locally is Rat Shack and it is just a basic one for $45. I am in the 13206 and have my dish set for 40/183/83 (EL/AZ/SK) and yes-the mounting bracket/pole is level/plumb.The Setup Wizard fails at installing switch because the dish is not aimed. Any advice would be appreciated!
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. satnewb

    satnewb Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    11
    You should be able to bypass the wizard by hitting *,menu on the #1 remote. Then the point dish screen should be option 1 on the menu that comes onto the screen. You'll want to tune the dish on the 72 orbital. I usually use transponder 15.
     
    #2
  3. HenryTS77

    HenryTS77 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKS - just wondering which Dish I should select as it does not offer a 1000.2 but a 300,500,Super. BTW - you are the FIRST one to let me know how to get around the setup wizard - others said it was not possible!
     
    #3
  4. satnewb

    satnewb Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    11
    as far as selecting the dish it doesn't matter. That's more for finding out the settings the dish needs to be at, which you already seem to have done. Shouldn't have any problems getting a signal once you're pointed correctly.
     
    #4
  5. HenryTS77

    HenryTS77 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help -I was able to get to the Point Dish menu and at least get 72.7 Sat tuned in-unfortunately 61.5 won't come in no matter what I try but at least 72.7 gives me most of the channels .
     
    #5
  6. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5,372
    Likes Received:
    37
    From behind the dish, cover up the right lnb (61.5) with aluminum foil.

    If you still have 72.7 signal then there may be a problem with the 61.5 lnb or with the internal switch.

    If you lose 72.7 it means you're about 10 degrees too far west and a little bit high on elevation (picking up 72.7 on the 61.5 lnb).
     
    #6
  7. satnewb

    satnewb Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah these things can be a little bit of a pain to tune even with a meter. I was gonna say a couple degrees down on the elevation and a bit to the left. Provided your clear of trees/obstructions you should be able to get it. Signal strength in the 60's on the 72 is higher than what I normally see in my area. Anything in the mid 40's is more than enough.
     
    #7
  8. nezerach

    nezerach Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    a 1000.2 dish won't pick up the eastern arc. you will need a 1000.4 with an EA LNB. the 1000.2 will pick up the western arc of 119/110/129
     
    #8
  9. satnewb

    satnewb Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    11
    There's a new EA lnb for the .2 that picks up 61/72.
     
    #9

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri