hopper update time

Discussion in 'The Hopper Zone' started by DasHoss, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. DasHoss

    DasHoss Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you change the software update time on hopper?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using SatelliteGuys sweet app
     
    #1
  2. 3HaloODST

    3HaloODST SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    6,607
    Likes Received:
    77
    Not yet. I really hope Dish adds this feature back... Even the 922 has that option... Dish, please add this (and manual timers) back! While we're at it also the ability to password protect recordings and view recording deletion history... Why downgrade any features that the old ViPs have?
     
    #2
  3. dmaul3300

    dmaul3300 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree dish needs to add all of those features to the hopper.
     
    #3
  4. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    15,832
    Likes Received:
    321
    I was having trouble with the hopper wanting to do software updates around 3:30 in the mornings, right when my wife gets up to go to work and wants to watch tv . So I had to set a daily timer for channel 101 from 3:30 am to 4:30 am. So now it has to update any time before the 3:30 am or after 4:30 am. It's the only way I can still get updates and please the wife too. Would be easier if you could set the time you want it to update, like on older receivers.
     
    #4
  5. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Welcome To SatelliteGuys!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    85,100
    Media:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    980
    No way to change it yet. The Hopper data only spools at night. This data contains all the guide data, artwork etc to make the Hopper work.

    I have heard they are working to add a 24/7 Hopper data feed as well as making the hopper grab that data and updates using a free tuner instead of forcing the Hopper off each night.

    No ETA on when this will happen though.
     
    #5
  6. 3HaloODST

    3HaloODST SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    6,607
    Likes Received:
    77
    Guessing the 922 has a different "data stream" then? You can set the nightly reboot time on the 922, what does Hopper do differently?
     
    #6
  7. Bruuce

    Bruuce Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    I realize this is an old thread, but this bothers me to no end. I am hoping Dish realizes that people watch TV at all hours and would like to be able to download updates at their convenience. Dish, please make this happen!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    #7
    3HaloODST likes this.
  8. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    39
    It might be an old thread, but it is still a current problem.
     
    #8
    3HaloODST and charlesrshell like this.
  9. DishSubLA

    DishSubLA SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    3,549
    Likes Received:
    83
    I am up when my Hoppers update, and I can tell you that as recently as yesterday (and from day one) while I have my Hoppers set to update at 4AM and the other at 6AM, they both ALWAYS attempt to update at aprox. 1:30AM give or take ten minutes either way, unless a recording is in progress.

    This ANNOYS me to no end, too, as I don't notice the time, but slip to the kitchen for off limits cookie or other late night goodie only to return and see the STUPID Hopper updating having LOST everything that was in the buffer that I was watching LIVE or delayed LIVE. PLEASE FIX THIS DISH. Mom is constantly keeping the Hopper from updating because she is up during that 2 or 3 Hour window from about 1:30AM on when the Hopper will repeated try to update. PLEASE, DISH, CAN'T YOU MAKE THIS TIME OF UPDATE FEATURE WORK LIKE THE OLD ViP'S? IS IT REALLY THAT HARD? IT IS HEARTACHE FOR US.
     
    #9
  10. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    48
    How do you have your Hoppers set to update at 4 and 6 am?

    Posted Via The FREE SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #10
  11. JSheridan

    JSheridan Ground Control
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    132
    That's what I was gonna ask. :)
     
    #11
  12. Tony S

    Tony S Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    684
    Likes Received:
    9
    It happened to me again last night...I went to the kitchen to get some water, and when I returned the hopper had already started to do the nightly update and I lost the buffer on the shows that I was watching. I am almost always watching TV at 1:30am so this has become a big PITA for me.

    DISH, PLEASE FIX THIS ANNOYING PROBLEM!!!!!!! It is pretty stupid to have your top of the line receiver to have this problem, while your other receivers have the ability to set the update time.
     
    #12
    Bruuce likes this.
  13. carpexnoctem

    carpexnoctem Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    With S342, the Hopper update was changed and it would ask if you wanted to update at any time between the hours of 1-6 a.m. regardless if you were recording or not. That was when it became a PITA for me since I watch and record shows during those hours. If I told it Yes it just went into standby mode, preventing me from watching Live TV until my recordings were done and it could update. Now since S502/503 it has gone back to only asking when no recording is taking place. This is a major improvement to something that shouldn't have been changed in the first place. As long as you're recording something, it won't update. I've discussed the update on numerous occasions with advanced tech support at DISH, especially before it was changed. The reason why the update time can't be set the same as the ViP receivers can is because the Hopper is more involved. It's not difficult to understand it has a different software package when compared to other receivers. ViP receivers are mostly text based and the update really only needs to provide the program guide which can be gotten at any time. When I had a ViP 722K, I sometimes would set the update to take place in the afternoon if early morning was inconvenient for me. Hoppers need not only the program guide, but also artwork for the programs as well the channel logos and other evolving information. This software is only sent during the target hours of 1-6 a.m.
     
    #13
  14. peggy97850

    peggy97850 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    224
    Likes Received:
    8
    "As long as you're recording something, it won't update"
    Words to remember if it's bugging you - just set a manual timer to a music channel (no interruptions) from 1:25 till whenever you want, when your recording is over the update will happen. Not difficult, & if we never get a user configurable update time, this works for those of us that are up late. Easy work around for an irritating issue.
     
    #14
    navychop and charlesrshell like this.
  15. 3HaloODST

    3HaloODST SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    6,607
    Likes Received:
    77
    Two years later... Still no fix. Go figure.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
    #15
  16. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    37
    Perhaps Dish has made the decision that this is the way they want it to work.
     
    #16
VigLink badge
Sucuri