How accurate is dishpointer.com?

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by abooch, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. abooch

    abooch Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    how accurate is this site? I'm getting an install done sunday and need to have the dish installed on the deck.. dishpointer seems to show tat i have a good line of sight as there are no trees in my backyard blocking the view of the dish with the next house have a max height of 100 feet..here is the picture..
     

    Attached Files:

    • ant1.jpg
      ant1.jpg
      File size:
      377.8 KB
      Views:
      221
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. jdspencer

    jdspencer SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Posts:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    5
    It might be close as the house roof is at an elevation of 35 deg. But, that's probably at ground level. Since your dish will be a bit higher, I'd say you're okay. Get a protractor and do a sighting at the 35.4 deg elevation at the dish location. You might consider putting the dish on a pole off the deck or on the roof.
     
    #2
  3. Zynergi

    Zynergi Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 35.4 is the AZ/EL Mounts Setting not the Sat . He is using the 5LNB settings hich is just going to show center point. He still needs to go 19-25 degrees to the right for 119 and about 8-10 degrees lower. I would be willing to be (assuming tree height) that 119 and maybe 110 may be blocked.. but he may not need those sats, in which case a Slimline 3 LNB would work.

    What I would do OP, is have dishpointer look at each sat, vs the combo, and see where the trajectory angles are.
     
    #3
  4. HDRoberts

    HDRoberts SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Posts:
    4,775
    Likes Received:
    13
    Keep in mind the line is just the imaginary center line where a multiple LNB setup points. Check each individual satellite location for LOS.
     
    #4
  5. abooch

    abooch Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea i did that checked all five separately and it looks pretty good hopesully it all works out
     
    #5
  6. goober22

    goober22 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in NW Florida and used Dishpointer to set my dish up before my receivers came. Once here, they matched for all #s that dishpointer gave me. So, it seems accurate.
     
    #6

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri