How do Dish Anywhere sessions work?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by ddsp, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. ddsp

    ddsp Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am upgrading to a VIP722k and have connected it to the internet through a high speed 5Ghz 802.11n dedicated WiFi connection then then passes through a DSL router.

    I am mostly curious on how Dish Anywhere actually works and what, if any, special configuration I need to set in my router.

    I understand that the DVR connects to the Dish server and that when I log into dishanywhere.com, I am connecting to the Dish server which controls the whole process.

    If I want to set the DVR to record a show, I assume that the server sends instructions to the DVR.

    If I want to view live content or recorded content, I have read that the Dish Anywhere will utilize one of the tuners in the VIP722k. I do not know if that content comes directly from DVR or if it is transferred through the Dish server, but it seems logical that it would come directly from the DVR

    What I do not get is how the Dish server communicates with the DVR or how a session is set up to connect the DVR and the DishAnywhere device (in my case a laptop). Unless it requires that the DVR initiate a session, it would seem to me that it would be necessary to set up some type of port forwarding to get any request from the server through a router and to the DVR. I guess this could be done through UPnP. (Although I prefer to turn off UPnP.)

    If the Dish server needs to initiate a session, can port forwarding be specified, or does the system require UPnP? (I can find no way to set a static IP address or port for the VIP722k).

    So, can anyone tell me how the sessions are initiated and maintained?
     
    #1
  2. ddsp

    ddsp Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update

    I am now thinking that all sessions must be initiated by the DVR.

    The VIP722k shows up on my network as "new-host1". I can ping it and I can do a port scan on it. Apparently the only three ports that are open are 21 (FTP), 25 (SMTP), and 110(POP3).

    Any attempt to attach to the DVR via FTP causes an immediate loss of connection - before any possible authentication. So I am thinking that the DVR is programmed to never accept any incoming FTP connection. If all internet sessions are initiated by the DVR, then there is no for port forwarding.
     
    #2
  3. TRGuy

    TRGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the sling adapter? Dish Anywhere requires that a sling adapter be connected to the 722.
     
    #3
  4. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,113
    Likes Received:
    634
    Sling Box would be another option.

    The Dish server just initiates the session. Your program does not go thru to Dish then to you.

    Almost nobody has to change their router. You're making this out to be a lot harder than it is.

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    #4
  5. ddsp

    ddsp Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks NavyChop. I do not have a sling box, and, yes, it seems as if all I need to do is connect the DVR to a good Ethernet network and forget it.

    The reason for my thread was to understand how it does it - manages and controls communication among the Dish Anywhere app or program, the Dish server, and the DVR...

    Why? Just because I kind of like to know the technology I am using. ;-)

    ddsp
     
    #5
  6. garys

    garys SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have had my 722 for some time now, I recently got a smart phone and the sling adaptor and then I downloaded the app to the phone. I was able to view off tuner 2 and existing dvr recordings without much trouble and I never changed anything on my server or router. Just remember the 722 needs to be connected to your broadband.
     
    #6
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013
  7. n0qcu

    n0qcu Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,511
    Likes Received:
    39
    it uses UPnP
     
    #7
  8. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    48
    Sling Box does not work with Dish Anywhere, only the Dish Sling Adapter works with the Dish Anywhere software.

    You initiate a connection through Dish servers for authentication but the actual programming transmission comed directly from your Sling Adapter to the device.

    Sling Box has its own seperate software that actually works better than Dish Anywhere, but the two are no longer compatible.
     
    #8
  9. GNASH

    GNASH Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Posts:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use Dish Anywhere with a 722k without a sling adapter to record shows. The only catch is you can not watch tv.

    Geoff
     
    #9
  10. ddsp

    ddsp Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone:

    I normally set my routers to turn off UPnP, but I will make an exception so that the DVR can use UPnP. If I understand the process correctly then, the DVR will utilize UPnP to allow the Dish servers to get directly to the DVR without needing port forwarding. Probably the same process to establish a streaming video connection to a laptop - and possibly to mobile apps.

    I will see about live TV - from what I had read, I thought that I would be able to view recorded programs and live TV with the understanding that either would use one of the receivers.
     
    #10
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri