How does Autohop Work?

TalonDancer

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 13, 2006
I’m just getting started with Prime Time Anytime on our new Hopper 3 and would appreciate some help understanding how Autohop works. What I’ve gleaned so far from various threads….

The Autohop feature is manually added to Prime Time AnyTime recordings by Dish….
Yes, as I said, someone has to sit down and watch the episode and mark the start and end of commercials. When they're done with ALL shows for the day, the info is sent to our receivers…..

For various contractural reasons the Hopper will not skip ads until a few days after the recording…
ABC (affiiliate)- 1 day
ABC (O&O) - 3 days
NBC (affiliate) - 1 day
NBC (O&O) - 7 days
FOX - 7 days
CBS- 8 days

The Autohop functionality is retained even when a PTAT recording/series is saved to a folder….
The only network show I watch is The Big Bang Theory and I don't wait for AutoHop. Our CBS isn't even delayed, if I'm not mistaken since it's not corporate-owned by CBS. I do "Save Series" with this show, so if I don't watch it right away, yes, I'll let it 'hop'. Otherwise, I'm pretty damn good with the 30-second skip button !! ?

Did I get this right?

Thanks Bobby.

I’m trying to understand the Dish Anywhere (web browser) listing of Sunday’s Prime Time Anytime recordings.

DishAnywhere.jpg

The first and fourth items make sense.
Item 1 - FOX 7 News was recorded by PTAT and I have the option to save ithe series or this specific recording.
Item 4 - Elementary was recorded by PTAT and this recoding was saved because I had an existing timer to record all new.

But the 2nd and 3rd are confusing.
Item 2 & 3 - American Crime and Shades of Blue were recorded by PTAT and it says the series was saved but Dish Anywhere also offers to save it (unlike item 4). We have never had a timer for either program. So why would PTAT label them as “series saved”?

FWIW Elementary shows up in the DVR section as saved but American Crime and Shades of Blue do not.