How many receivers on One account ??

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by DVRaholic, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. DVRaholic

    DVRaholic Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok wondering.. I now have 10 receivers on my Directv account, and I want to add one more HR20...Why 10 receivers you ask.. see my username :D
    Anyhow Directv "says" I can have as many recievers on one account as long as they are all on the same phone line, and they are... mostly

    I will have 7 of the 11 actually attached to the phone line, the other 4 are in rooms that a phone is not located (Attic room, basement, etc..)

    Do you think this will be a problem with Directv, If so what would they do ??

    Is there anyone out there with a similar set-up (Over 10 receivers) If so have you had any problems with some of them not attached to phone lines. Will directv turn these off if they cant "see" them.

    Thanks in advance....
     
    #1
  2. Lear

    Lear Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you want to be able to order PPV through the remote or view caller ID on the TV, don't worry about the phone line connection. The only recievers that are dependent on the phone line for guide info are the older TiVo models.
     
    #2
  3. DVRaholic

    DVRaholic Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this, my concern is since I have so many receivers Directv will want to monitor my account more closley to see if they are actually in the same location, they might want to be able to "see" them via the phoneline.
    Thats my main concern on having 4 of the 11 not connected.
     
    #3
  4. JamesJ

    JamesJ AKA Stuart628
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Posts:
    8,107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have never heard of Directv doing what Dish network does-they call someone and will shut off their account until they actually read numbers off the recievers to make sure they are all inone house-you should be fine, I really dont see this being a problem with directv-must be a pretty sweet set up at your place, Sunday Ticket would be amazin!
     
    #4
  5. Beavis

    Beavis Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    D* only audits accounts if there are 20 or more IRD's on them.
     
    #5
  6. DVRaholic

    DVRaholic Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    GREAT then I have 9 more to go :hungry: :D
     
    #6
  7. Denman007

    Denman007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 6, 3 of them in my living room during NFL season. Only 1 is attached to a phone line. What a convenience it is to see on my tv who is calling...90% of the time I don't have to get out of my recliner to answer the phone. :D
     
    #7
  8. jpn

    jpn Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Posts:
    760
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as your DVR isn't recording those caller-id intrusions. That sucks.
     
    #8
  9. iwc5893

    iwc5893 PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    My understanding (and experience) is that the DVR doesn't record the caller ID messages unless you're saving to VCR at the time.
     
    #9
  10. EricS

    EricS Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you run into a problem you can alway add wireless phone jacks...very simple to use.......
     
    #10
  11. cariera

    cariera Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would this be a concern? After all you have said that they are all at the same location.:)
     
    #11
  12. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    50,108
    Likes Received:
    235
    Best bet would be to call them and see what they say, but I doubt that it would be a problem.

    You pay $45 bucks in addl. rec. fees .... That would not go over well in my house .

    Jimbo
     
    #12
  13. DVRaholic

    DVRaholic Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because Like I said in my original post Only 7 of the 11 are hooked to phone lines. Directv says all must be on phone lines, I know they dont enforce this BUT I was wondering if they would with so many receivers on my account.
    Thanks for everybodys help, I think I will be OK
    :)
     
    #13
  14. Stargazer

    Stargazer Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    15,752
    Likes Received:
    108
    You can get six dual tuner receivers with Dish which will do twelve rooms and only have 5 additional outlet fees which saves $25 per month ($300 per year). Dish only allows 8 total receivers on an account. In the past didn't Directv shut off additional receivers not connected to a phone line? Did they decide to quit doing that?
     
    #14
  15. Buzzdar

    Buzzdar Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i may ask why would one person need so many Receivers? i know you can only watch so much tv at one time?
     
    #15
  16. matty8199

    matty8199 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here...I've never had caller ID messages show up while watching programs recorded on DVR (unless there was an actual incoming call at that point in time, of course)...
     
    #16
  17. DVRaholic

    DVRaholic Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am One person, but with the rest of my family living at my house it makes 9 :D
     
    #17
  18. Denman007

    Denman007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the phone line going to the DVR...it goes to my HD rec. So of course when I watch a recorded program, caller ID doesn't work for new calls coming in. But I can it a marco button on my remote and switch it to my HD box to see who's calling.

    Maybe I should just split the phone line and run it to my DVR too.
     
    #18
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2007
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri