HR24 whole home setup still good or time to upgrade??

Status
Please reply by conversation.

adam61

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jul 19, 2006
I switched to directv and got 4 HR24s (had to bribe the installer) but nonetheless I've been plugging along using the same setup for 5-6 years. My contract is up again and I usually call and when I do they usually offer discounts and/or new equipment with a 1/2 year extension. I enjoy my current setup, but I'll admit it's annoying having 4 to-do lists and I get more errors and need to do a reset or clear my box more often on a couple units.

1) what upgraded equipment is out and how much better is it and is it pretty future proof (4k, max tuners, etc)???

2) am I better off with current equipment is there new amazing stuff on the horizon in 1-2 years?

3) Are there any downsides to the new equipment? Can I get one genie to try it and keep the other 3 HR24s? Or is this impossible or a bad idea?

I rarely record more than 4 shows at once(having the ability to do 8 doesn't hurt my feelings though). But I absolutely hate complexity and input lag in my receivers. Thanks for all your help just curious where we are on the upgrade cycle.

I suggest you do number 3.

Add a genie and keep 3 hr24's

You gain a faster 5 tuner receiver and lose nothing.

+1 to number 3.

I just moved and I'm blown away by the speed of the genie. I had 4 HD DVRs in my old home but the new one was only pre-wired for two. So I kept the one HR24 that I had and gave back the three older HR22s and went wireless in the other two rooms which don't get used all that much.

I agree with Satgirl.
Upgrade to a HR44's genie, it's much faster, keep the HR24 that are working well for you, drop the ones giving you trouble.
Tell them you need to make use of the Wireless portion of the Genie to connect to your set up, this will get you the 44 instead of the 34.