I need a Firmware or third party software for my ADTH 8600ir receiver.

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Johnson114, Apr 18, 2012.

  1. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, thanks for reading my post. My name is Olugbenga. I am putting out this post if someone could help me with firmware update or a third party software for my ADTH 8600ir receiver. I bought it on eBay last week brand new with dish package. But I found out it has been discontinued and I emailed the manufacturer but no respond as of this moment. If anyone has or have an idea of a third party software that will work for my receiver. Please give me the link or a copy of the software. Thank you.
     
    #1
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  2. FaT Air

    FaT Air HOA Free Zone
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    4,950
    Likes Received:
    94
    Welcome to the forum. - -
    What's the problem with the firmware that's in it?
     
    #2
  3. eurosport

    eurosport The Alternative, Monday Nights at 8
    Supporting Founder SatelliteGuys Radio DJ

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    6,426
    Likes Received:
    76
    On the eBay ad it looks like one of the old Bob Jones University distance learning systems.
     
    #3
  4. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    A company had bought all of the remaining Bob Jones satellite equipment after their home schooling shut down a few years back and has been slowly selling the items on Ebay.

    To my knowledge, there are no firmware upgrades to the receiver. I recall a few years back there was mention of a channel editor being available so you could at least upgrade the satellite names. This receiver model is at least 8 years old, so as far as satellite equipment is concerned, it is from the stone age....
     
    #4
  5. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is, the satellite names are out of date. I could only get Galaxy 19 channels which on the receiver is T5. I'm trying to ask if anyone has any info of a third party software compatible with the receiver. I don't want to dump it since I just purchased a Openbox S10 Hd receiver which I just bought on eBay.
     
    #5
  6. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is, the satellite names are out of date. I could only get Galaxy 19 channels which on the receiver is T5. Do you have any info on a third party software that is compatible with the receiver? I will really appreciate it.
     
    #6
  7. mikelib

    mikelib Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    728
    Likes Received:
    12
    I purchased an ATDH IS8920 receiver on e-bay from a salvage company. The receiver was lost in shipping.

    My receiver is only setup to receive Galaxy 19, even though they say you can use it for other FTA satellites, there is no way to change the settings. I have an update feature on the set for updating the software through a transponder on Galaxy 19. Of course I tried to update the software but it did not work.

    I contacted the company and they were curious how obtained the STB and they asked what the MAC number was. After I provided theinformation they said they could not help me and if I didn’t like the receiver to return it to the seller… GOODBYE

    The next day I received a phone call and an e-mail from someone trying to sell me Thailand TV. I understand that the sets were used for being sold to Thai-immigrants for Thailand TV.

    I called there support number every day for a week and got no response. I try sending e-mail to the support group and they did not respond.

    I did get the receiver to work on Galaxy 19 but with only the transponders that are listed in the set. A lot of transponders have changed since the set was made so I only got a few stations. It does need an update and the ability to add satellites and change transponders.

    I wish I could find the transponder that has the update but alas I could not. The receiver sits on a self in the garage with the rest of the receivers that I purchased that I don’t use.

    Well that is my tale of woe for the ADTH IS8920, I wish you success with trying to get your receiver to work.
    mikelib
     
    #7
  8. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    microyal mrx1000 firmware loaded via evileyes manager.
    For aiming I prefer loading the hevet 800 factory firmware that had the signal beep option.
    The old adth receivers were locked into using 1 sat and certain channels.Older versions had a card slot but were the old sti5500 pro cessor.
     
    #8
  9. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    microyal had no blindscan function,so it's a yucky receiver for true fta.
    The network scan does work for sats like 97w and the receiver will grab tp's working in the background over time,which is interesting.As an example you would only enter 1 tp in the sat list and only scan that one tp.After watching channels on that one tp and going back to the sat list,others magically appear.
     
    #9
  10. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    @xtgold if you still have the firmware for Microroyal 1000 receiver can you email me the copy of the software?
     
    #10
  11. Babadem

    Babadem Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Posts:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    8
    You could check out this site here and see if they could help you. It seems they sell and support ADTH IS8920.
     
    #11
  12. mikelib

    mikelib Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    728
    Likes Received:
    12
    Those were the people I contacted when I purchase a ADTH IS8920 set from a e-bay salvage company.

    They would not help and calling their support is useless they never answer or return a message.
     
    #12
  13. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    search
    Code:
    www.dvb-upload.com
    for hevet 800,that will keep you busy.
    the firmware is between 800k and 950k size,avoid the smaller downloads.
    Load with evileyes manager via serial and null cable.
     
    #13
  14. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here is a strange event......

    Was contacted today to purchase 500+ of these receivers by a broker. Third time in two years that a different broker has contacted us to by the remaining BJU receiver stock. Second time that I have suggested to a broker to send these units to salvage. LOL!
     
    #14
  15. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    @xtgold: I found about 15 download links. The one with the biggest size is Hevet 800 1000 EMU_ zip the size is 986k should I download that?
     
    #15
  16. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    I would go for the 051098.9,the hevet series of firmwares are numbered like 0510xx.x the higher the number the newer the firmware.
    Use the default settings in evileyes manager
     
    #16
  17. Johnson114

    Johnson114 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found two downloads one has the evileye manager and the other has 051098.9 I will create a new folder and combine both as one file. I will like to ask if both the bin file and the evileye manager will be downloaded to the receiver or just the evileye manager as you said in the previous post.
     
    #17
  18. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    evileyes is what you use to load the file.
    you don't combine both as one file,whatever that means.
     
    #18
  19. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    that one used an oddball processor if I remember correctly.
     
    #19
  20. xtgold

    xtgold Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    13
    I uploaded my aimer firmware here,if it ever gets past moderation.
     
    #20

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri