Janeil Dark Star- Need spur gear

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Freddie101

Original poster
May 2, 2009
Florida
Hi, I am new at this so please be patient. This looks like a really good group.
I have a 10' mesh Janeil Dark Star and the spur gear stripped and I have not been able to locate one any where. I took it to a local foundry and they could make one out of aluminum for $1200.00. I couldn't belive it either. If anyone has a lead on the spur gear it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Freddie101

:welcome to the group
maybe turbosat can take a picture of his , i think he had a Janeil Dark Star
may the force be with you ! ( sorry with the name of that dish i just had to do it :D )

Spur Gear

I hope the photos are ok.
Thanks again

Attachments

• Dish Mover01.jpg
    Dish Mover01.jpg
    286.5 KB · Views: 667
  • Spur gear,1.jpg
    Spur gear,1.jpg
    207.5 KB · Views: 550
  • Spur gear,2.jpg
    Spur gear,2.jpg
    316.7 KB · Views: 515
well i think finding parts is going to be tough have you thought about options, maybe taking a flywheel and cutting it in half and bolting the two pieces together.

Freddie101 said:
I took it to a local foundry and they could make one out of aluminum for $1200.00.
if the one you have is worn badly a aluminum one won't last very long.

George my old Janeil came down hurriedly early last year LOL. it was a 12' and mostly plastic , didn't have one of those fancy drives on it either. Still got some pieces and mesh but most of it was falling apart so I took it out. Wish I had something to help him but I don't. (12 hundred? whew, musta been union prices!)_