Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Long cable run.

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by seg2890, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. seg2890

    seg2890 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Wednesday, I'll be having my third DTV tech come out. The first two saw the trees behind my townhouse and immediately said a dish wasn't possible. After a friend a few doors down with the same tree issue had a successful installation, I was a bit annoyed that my techs didn't try a little harder to help me out.

    My friend a few doors down has his cable running ~150 feet to an area where the line of sight is better. That area is ~300 feet from me, which I realize is a long distance, but I've been reading up on long cable runs on the DTV forums and people were saying it can be done. There's also an area about 150 feet from me where a neighbor's dish currently sits, but the tech who did my friend's installation said he has no idea how they're getting a signal.

    I've signed up for a custom installation this time (probably what I should have originally done, but I didn't know any better) so that the tech knows this isn't going to be a typical 100 ft. or so installation. Am I going to have major problems if I have to run the cable 300 feet? I'm hoping to somehow get a decent signal where the closer dish is, but like I said, that other tech said he doesn't know how they're getting a signal.

    Also, at this point I'll just be glad to finally have TV, but I was really wanting NFL Sunday Ticket...but will potential signal loss from the long distance prevent me from receiving those higher channels?

    Any general advice on this subject would be appreciated. Sorry if these are dumb questions. I'm just a 20-year-old female college student desperate to get DTV to work because I don't really have any other options! :what
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    8,930
    Likes Received:
    53
    Be careful to note in your research whether the runs were accomplished with legacy switchgear or SWiM switchgear. SWiM, the technology DIRECTV is using today, likely has a higher power requirement than the legacy switchgear. As such, the distances attainable may be considerably less.

    In any event, 300' is off the table for a "free professional installation".

    Here's a few alternatives (not vetted):

    1. Have a local authorized dealer install you with legacy switchgear
    2. Contract with a local authorized dealer to install SWiM over RG11 to the splitter
    3. Power the dish remotely and pray that the SWiM control signals make the trip.
     
    #2
  3. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    Actually, I think your on the right track if you have them use RG11 coax like Harshness mentioned.
    As for SWM or otherwise, I would think it would be easier without SWM, but then again, I'm not sure as the SWM needs a Power Insertor to feed the dish.

    I would have the installer try both, but the RG11 is the most important here.
    It's designed for longer runs.
     
    #3
  4. seg2890

    seg2890 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you both for your replies!

    Is the RG11 something I'm going to need to supply? I believe I read DTV installs with RG6?
     
    #4
  5. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    Possibly, but I would see if you can contact the installation company ahead of time and then they will bring it with them.

    Possibly D* could mention this on the order.
     
    #5
  6. memory

    memory PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installers do not carry RG11 cable and you can note on the WO all you want but it wont make a difference and if this is something that you will need then you will have to have this along with the fittings and possibly the tool to crimp them on cause most installers WILL NOT have this!!! And if you run a cable that far theres a good chance it will work in the beginning and after time it will start to pixelate and stop working and this is a big big chance to take and if your willing I would have you sign a waiver that if you insisted on this then it will be your problem if this happens
     
    #6
  7. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    Ummm, excuse me ????

    This is the WHOLE purpose of using RG11 cable in the first place.

    I will base my opinion on some other installers here on the site that I am aware of.
     
    #7
  8. memory

    memory PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Base what ya want on whatever you want I promise you that 99.9% of installers do not carry RG11 with them or there warehouses have it in stock cause I know ours sure dont cause we had this issue not to long ago and per Directv it was the customers responsibilty to have this and the fittings
     
    #8
  9. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    I knew they would not have it on the truck, it's not used all that often.
    I DID expect them to have some in the office though.
     
    #9
  10. memory

    memory PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would think we would have access to some but nope we dont, Heck right now its hard enough to keep recievers in the warehouse and right now swm lnb's are on allocation. We had one apartment complex who wire there main feed into each apartment with rg11 and we tried to get the fittings and dtv said nope they have to supply those if they want to use it and in 10 years I have never seen rg11 in any warehouse and I have worked in many cities for dtv
     
    #10
  11. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    RG11 to the apt 's was a really DUMB thing to do.
    Hopefully they came to thier senses and ran the RG11 to the building and 6 to the apts after that.

    RG11 is really not that hard to find, just expensive.
    Here's some and connecters too.

    http://search.solidsignal.com/?q=RG11&search.x=0&search.y=0&site=new&new_search=1&cart=0
     
    #11
  12. Liquidforce88

    Liquidforce88 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    3,655
    Likes Received:
    1
    Every house is different. You say the trees are the same, but they are not. 2 Techs have been there, I really doubt you have a LOS.

    300' to you on someone elses property. I would not expect any installer to do this. 300' runs were done with Legacy equipment, back before Installation Verification. The tech's just can't get by with a scetchy system any longer.

    With the way Direct has the Installation Verification, No tech is going to take the chance with a 300' install. It won't verify. I had one the other day that was only 250' and could not get it to verify. Hate to say, but as I was once told by a Direct Supervisor, some customers are not meant to have our service.

    I am really not trying to be a jerk or anything, just giving you the real world answers. Don't expect any install to be done with the dish on another property and 300'. Don't expect anyone to have RG-11, and not even sure that would help. Even if they did have RG-11, you can expect a large customer charge, and it may not work.

    I know it sucks to be in this situation, but with the way techs are back charged, and over schedualed, I would not expect anything to happen. I am suprised you are getting someone to come out after 2 techs have been there already.
     
    #12
  13. seg2890

    seg2890 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The area my friend's dish is on, and mine if I have to run the line that far, is behind a dumpster. It's not really anybody's property and it's not visible to anybody. My friend's dish is NOT behind his apartment where the trees are, it's down the street where there aren't any trees blocking the LOS.

    When I called for the installation, I warned that the distance might be around 300 feet and the guy acted like it was no problem.

    I'm aware of the problems I might encounter, but I just really don't have many other options.
     
    #13
  14. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    I lost track, have you tried a Local company that might do D* installations ?

    I would go that way next, if your shot down by D* again.
    If you REALLY want D*'s service.
     
    #14
  15. seg2890

    seg2890 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I haven't. I'm not really sure who to go to for that. Would a local company be more willing than the DTV techs to do installs at longer distances? And yes, I REALLY want DirectTV, haha. I'm really not trying to be a stubborn customer or anything, it's just my ONLY other option for TV is Charter cable, and it's expensive/poor quality from what I've heard and my roommate said she would rather have "no TV than Charter" so she's refusing to pay for that.
     
    #15
  16. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    I would look in the Yellow Pages and see who is listed under D* offerings.
    Let them know up from that it's a long run and you'll probably need RG11 from the dish to the house.

    They will quote you accordingly.

    Try here, they are in Atlanta and it says Tough jobs welcome !

    http://www.satproatlanta.com/
     
    #16
  17. seg2890

    seg2890 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate all the help! I will definitely try this if I need to.
     
    #17
  18. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    49,088
    Likes Received:
    130
    There were others listed, I just pulled them up on line with google.
     
    #18

Share This Page