More channels on Hits

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by tvropro, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. tvropro

    tvropro Thread Starter On Vacation

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was talking to SRL today and asked them who do we contact to get more channels added. They told me we need to contact Hits. So I suggest we start a campaign and let them know we would like more content added to X4 we can get.

    Here is Hits contact info:
    Comcast Media Center

    Worth a shot... Look at what we did with Discovery. SRL told me also everything is cool with Discovery and will be around for a long time. New contracts were signed.
     
    #1
  2. trinidex

    trinidex Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Posts:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent! Thanks for the good news on Discovery and the contact deets for HITS.
     
    #2
  3. jens59

    jens59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    srl rep told me last week they could not add any more channels because the x4 sat. was full?
     
    #3
  4. radio

    radio "On the Air" in MI
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    72
    They probably were referring to the amount of video channels being carried "on" the satellite as a whole to which there is a limit (of course) not that there was no future for new ones being delivered to us as customers. There is a HOST of video programming on that bird, but we're not granted access (yet) to some due to programmers' contractual obligations and/or demands.
     
    #4
  5. Kb Cool

    Kb Cool Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    You guys should also ask Comcast for a new receiver or at least a modified one.
     
    #5
  6. Anony55

    Anony55 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    We don't need a new receiver. We just need them to authorize other receivers that already exist. That's what really makes it's a dirty deal. The units to do what we want are already available, they just won't allow those UIDs to be added.

    I'm not 100% sure who "they" are, but "they" are standing in the way for reasons other than physical limitations. It would seem that there's a conscious effort/decision to block us. My impression from SRL is that they would sell the megapipe stuff to us in a heartbeat if there was a path to do so.

    Cheers
     
    #6
  7. tdti1

    tdti1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shaw direct dsr 600 would be the best choice.
     
    #7
  8. tvropro

    tvropro Thread Starter On Vacation

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have heard that Hits will sell all the channels to SRL we just need a unit that will work. Maybe if we lobby Comcast H2H enough they will see if the shaw boxes or anything else can be got. keep trying to open doors that's all we can do :)

    On a side not could we get Hits to possibly swap some channels around from SES1 to X4 or go from combo to split so our 4D's can get them? It is possible they just don't know this can be done.We need to educate them :up
     
    #8
  9. Anony55

    Anony55 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too bad they won't sell us Fox College Sports on TP-22. Those are already in our current receivers format. Charlie doesn't sell that channel either, and the "good guys" are playing on that channel this weekend. So I just had to break down & buy tickets for that one.

    We wouldn't really need anyone to get a box for us, we could do that ourselves. We just need them to activate them for us after we have one. Looking at the DCII stuff that's on 101° and 105°... we could do pretty well if we had the ability to sub to all those channels.

    My 4500x will tune anything on those birds, too bad it can't sub to them. Of course, a receiver with a remote control would be a must for most people.

    So who is it that keeps SRL/HITS from authorizing Shaw & commercial boxes for us? The big M, or the owners of the channels themselves?

    Cheers
     
    #9
  10. K9SAT

    K9SAT SatelliteGuys Guru
    Supporting Founder SatelliteGuys Radio DJ

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    13,257
    Likes Received:
    23
    I really wish hey would offer some HD services.
     
    #10
  11. Anony55

    Anony55 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a DSR-600 & some cooperation from the masters... we could have some HD. Just imagine if SRL could sell & activate any DCII channel across the arc. Unfortunately, the politics don't seem to support that idea.

    Cheers
     
    #11
  12. tvropro

    tvropro Thread Starter On Vacation

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was the whole idea from day one with C band. but now that's frowned upon. I can lock & scan a a DC-2 HD mux on my Coolsat but its encrypted. I think the programmers HD masters are slowly pulling away from DC-2 technology in general and going with PowerVu.
     
    #12
  13. tdti1

    tdti1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 600 should be able to work on AMC-18 but would be able to receive all the services HITS has up there, old school dcII and megapipe along with s2 h.264 hd main distribution channels will most probably be a thing of the past, I think we are stuck working with Comcast, Shaw direct is the only sat provider out there using the DCII encryption platform, the 630 and 605 was thought to be our last hope but 2 months ago out came the 600 it's lowest cost Shaw direct hd receiver to hit the market. Going for $100 in Canada, sure beats a few hundred for the other models.
     
    #13
  14. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    92,447
    Likes Received:
    364
    considering the 8100 you have can only do DVB-S & S2 dont understand how it can scan in a DC2 channel.........
     
    #14
  15. tvropro

    tvropro Thread Starter On Vacation

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    6,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    I scanned a 8psk DC-2 mux the other day it locks and shows channels in the mux as 01-08. It didn't decode it though. I think DC-2 encryption is an overlay like PowerVu in some muxes.
     
    #15
  16. ikki

    ikki Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would imagine as a part of the Motorola sale to Google there will be an official comment period for the public to voice there concerns. Its during this time that the 4DTV users should let the FCC know that the equipment exists to view megapipe, and that Comcast aka HITS would sell programming to us but Motorola has previously refused to authorize the previously owned Shaw receivers for domestic use.

    As a side note the Shaw receivers ARE FCC approved for use in the states so there is no legal barrier other then the one that Motorola has created.

    Do we have any lawyers on the forum that could write a nice brief on this? Any one? Bueller? Any one?
     
    #16
  17. tdti1

    tdti1 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard it was because Shaw has exclusive rights to the receivers, if thats the case maybe srl should try to deal with Shaw? All I know is the 600 is our last chance at anything worth while.
     
    #17
VigLink badge
Sucuri