Status
Please reply by conversation.

Chris_R

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 27, 2007
Northern California
Hello all,

I have a working DSR 922 along with an 8 ft C-band dish that's been parked on the Music Choice channels on G5 (using a generic tile) for the past 5 years. Those music channels vanished about a week ago, so of course was giving thought to getting rid of the dish entirely.

Then I remembered MPEG-2 / MPEG-4 FTA, and I just recently learned that a friend of mine is involved in starting up a new channel in May that will indeed be FTA. I would like to be able to pick up this channel, plus any other free stuff that might be out there...but has to be a "user friendly" method - I'm not a rocket scientist and have no clue (or have forgotten) how to adjust polarity etc. for any channel I might wish to check out.

Was doing some research here and discovered a unit called Manhattan, which appears to get the FTA channels and includes a DVR of sorts - is it fairly easy to use, and is it compatible with the latest broadcast formats? I am new to the terms "DVB-S" etc.

What's the first step I need to do here to get a 922 back in action: obviously the maps are outdated, but does that matter if I'm not planning to use the 922 for programming? Do I need to download a new set of maps before I can hook up an FTA receiver?

Also is there a link someone can point me to on this forum with instructions on how to connect and set up an FTA receiver?

I had one over 10 years ago, seemed to be fairly easy to use but tricky to make sure the cabling was all correct - some special type of splitter for the feed coming off the dish.

Appreciate the help - thanks a ton & glad to see other C-band users still around here!

AFAIK- The 1933 is out of production. But a new model is 'in the pipe'. But it's a pretty good receiver from all I've read about it.