new receiver time

mdram

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 24, 2005
Md
so i just got new 4k TV (55" samsung 6500)

the sound just isnt up to the old tv, and my receiver bit the dust

requirements
5.1 min(more is better of course)
35w channel (more isbetter)
4k passthrough

im looking at these
Denon AVR-S510BT
ONKYO TX-NR535
Denon AVR-X1100W
Marantz NR1604

what about harmon kardon?
other?

edit it was 1604, not 1504 for the marantz

Last edited:
I love my Onkyo TX NR 609. I've been using it every day for about 4 years and it's a solid product. I know some people don't like Onkyo but I think a lot of that is based on older receivers that used to overheat. They put out a great bang for the buck product now.

They only thing I don't like about the Onkyo you posted is that it doesn't have any form of Audyssey setup or EQ features while mine does. Instead they are using something called AccuEQ Room Calibration that I've never heard of. Now, I haven't researched AVRs since I bought mine so for all I know this could be as good, or better than Audyssey but I doubt it.

Many people here really like Denon receivers but the AVR-S510BT would be out of contention for me for the same reason as the Onkyo.

That narrows it down to the Denon AVR-X1100W or Marantz but it's no coincidence that these are the two most expensive options you listed. Since I don't have any experience with either of those brands it would probably make more sense for someone else to chime in. I gotta say, I really like the slimmer look of the Marantz though.

i know nothing about Audyssey or the alternative, off to do some research.

and yeah that marantz does look nice

With your new UHD TV, you need to make sure you get a receiver that supports HDCP 2.2. Most on that list do not.