Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

New TW remote need 30 second skip

Discussion in 'Time Warner Cable Forum' started by dmt4, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. dmt4

    dmt4 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I just moved and now have Time Warner cable. With Comcast I was able to program a button to do a 30 second skip. This Time Warner remote does not have a set up button. It is model number UR5U-8780L-TWM the only instructions I have found involve hitting a setup button... this remote does not have one. Help! this is driving me nuts!
    thanks!
    Donna
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. jayn_j

    jayn_j spin class Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    118
    Nope. TWC lobotomized the boxes themselves. No 30 second skip. Killed favorites list last spring although they will tell you that pressing the favorite button goes to the next favorite channel and that's what people want :(
    Disabled the external HDD support last summer. only a 6 day guide. etc, etc.

    The reason the Comcast worked is that they still had the 30 second function and code. It just isn't programmed into the remote. To clarify, TWC has removed the functions entirely from the box itself.

    I finally got very frustrated and bought a TIVO. Sorry if this sounds a little desperate, but I moved from Comcast to TWC a year ago. The Samsung box I initially received was wonderful, and then I watched many features I used disappear every month until there was little left.
     
    #2
  3. dmt4

    dmt4 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info. I really miss Comcast. I really am having a hard time getting used to Time Warner. Nothing is easy! UGH! color me frustrated.
     
    #3
  4. Islandguy43

    Islandguy43 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    They don't have a thirty second skip, but their fast forward feature will let you skip thru commercials and when do push the play button again, it will back you up 10 seconds so if you go too far, it will take you right to spot where the program restarts again. It actually works pretty good, compared to having no 30 sec skip at all. The fast forward feature won't work on certain video on the demand though, but if you dvr the program rather than watch it on demand, you will never have to worry about those commercials.:)
     
    #4
  5. jayn_j

    jayn_j spin class Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    118
    That skipback feature is black magic that has a learning curve. I use it on the remaining DVR, but I never get it quite right. How far it skips back is dependent on the speed you are fast forwarding (1x, 2x, 3x). It also happens on rewind. I can get close, but the amount of fiddling and attention I have to pay to it kind of makes me watch the commercials anyway :(
     
    #5
  6. Islandguy43

    Islandguy43 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose you do have to watch them, but I always use the 3x feature and have it down pretty well. It is not as good as the 30 second skip on dish, but still is better than no skip feature at all.l
     
    #6
  7. jayn_j

    jayn_j spin class Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    118
    My current favorite is the TIVO one. You get a choice of 30 second skip or a very fast forward (6-8x) that stops at 30 seconds. The whiz forward is really cool because you can hit back and stop the remaining FF.
     
    #7
  8. dmt4

    dmt4 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, I am really terrible at the 3x fast forward. :) you are right, it is better than nothing, but nothing compares to the 30 sec skip for sure. :( I guess I'll get used to it, I've only had it a few days, so it's gonna get easier, but man even the menus and how you get there are weird. :( I miss my Comcast! UGH!!!
     
    #8
  9. jayn_j

    jayn_j spin class Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    7,865
    Likes Received:
    118
    FWIW, I had trouble with the Comcast GUI when I switched from DISH. You get used to something and change is tough. That said, I really missed having favorite lists and the one button to VoD features on Comcast. Also the 30 second skip.

    The VoD on my TWC is a crapshoot. Half the time, all I get is macroblocking or "Program not available, try again later".
     
    #9
  10. Islandguy43

    Islandguy43 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like you have some issues with the Switched Digital Video in your area. I would call them and complain. We have the one button for VOD and to our DVR. My biggest complaint has been with the unreliable receivers. I am on my second hd dvr and my fourth HD Receiver for my bedroom. all less than two years. I just swapped out the bedroom receiver yesterday giving up my lunch, to go downtown to do so. When I got home and hooked it up, it was DOA.
    So I got pissed when I called to complain and reminded them that I would have no problem dumping them for Directv in the spring when NHLCI subscription was up. They must have made some notes on my account, because when I dropped off the DOA unit last night, they gave me a brand new unit that was only made two weeks ago. Hooked it up and it works like a charm. Just shouldn't have to go through the B.S. to get it done though.
     
    #10
  11. mal59

    mal59 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a general observation

    Seems that TW dumbs down the DVR boxes to intentionally support the TV networks desire to force users to watch commercials. They don't have the 30 second skip, they disable the external SATA port so you can't record more shows, they don't allow adjustment of the stop times on the annoying shows that run 1 minute longer screwing up the recordings I want.

    In general, they support network tv, not customers.

    IMHO
     
    #11
  12. Islandguy43

    Islandguy43 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well after all Time Warner does own a bunch of networks.
     
    #12

Share This Page