No Showtime anytime for Dish?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by smokey982, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. smokey982

    smokey982 Thread Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    4
    I downloaded the Showtime anytime app on my iPad but apparently Dish subscribers can't use it. When I try to log in I have to be with Direct, AT&T u-verse, Verizon, or Optimum (whatever that is). So dish users are not good enough for their app or what? Does anyone know if it works like HBO-GO? I was hoping to go back and watch Dexter from season 1.

    Sent from my iPad using SatelliteGuys
     
    #1
  2. #1_realist

    #1_realist Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Posts:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think there is an agreement set so those of us who have Showtime can use the app.
     
    #2
  3. Scherrman

    Scherrman SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    503
    Dish only has HBOgo and MAXgo at the moment.
     
    #3
  4. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    48
    Don't forget Epix, there is an app as well.
     
    #4
  5. king3pj

    king3pj SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Posts:
    5,030
    Likes Received:
    51
    We also don't get Showtime on demand. As far as I know it is the only premium package on Dish that doesn't come with on demand. It would be nice to get both of those services.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
    #5
  6. The Fat Man

    The Fat Man The future Dr. Fat Man
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Posts:
    2,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Find a relative or friend on one of those providers and use their login info. That's one way I get around ordering subscription services. I get the movies from their sister networks that Dish conveniently provides in their top 250 and BB@Home packages and use the apps for any shows I choose to watch. The only one I can't get is HBO as my parents don't pay for it.
     
    #6
  7. Geronimo

    Geronimo Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Posts:
    9,957
    Likes Received:
    36
    Optimum = Cablevision.
     
    #7
  8. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    20,615
    Likes Received:
    402
    Since DIRECTV recently added Showtime anytime, I hope Dish comes through soon, maybe there will be some word at CES?
     
    #8
  9. GaryPen

    GaryPen Rich or poor, it's good to have money.
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Posts:
    15,649
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    70
    It would certainly be a welcome addition.

    I wonder if the content providers charge the carriers money for on-demand and streaming services. I would think not, as it acts as a marketing tool to add viewers. But, corporate greed seems to know no bounds. So, they might.
     
    #9
  10. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    20,615
    Likes Received:
    402
    I do not think the service presents a charge to Dish, but there is soft costs since Dish has to make their subscriber database link up with Showtime so they can verify subscriptions.
     
    #10
  11. toddjb

    toddjb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Amazingly, I've been in an online chat with Dish for 40 minutes and the imbecile on the other end (Carl ID: 59D) can't answer the simple question of "Can I stream prior episodes of Showtime series" and "Do DISH customers have access to SHOWTIME ANYTIME?..."

    While reading him type "Thank you for that information. One moment please." a dozen times, I have unfortunately figured out through online searches that Dish does not seem to offer this same access that every other major provider does.

    Which means we'll be cancelling Showtime/HBO because the main reason we signed up was to stream the prior episodes of HOMELAND and other Showtime series....

    Yeah, I'm just venting. :)
    (and hoping someone tells me I'm wrong so we don't have to buy homeland season 2 from iTunes for $36/ season)
     
    #11
  12. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,722
    Likes Received:
    48
    No access to Showtime anytime. You can stream prior episodes if they are recorded on your DVR and you have a sling adapter.
     
    #12
  13. toddjb

    toddjb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    This tech support ineptitude is comical enough to share.... (keep in mind, I've been going at this for an hour and have asked 6 times now if he can transfer me to someone else or ask a manager);

    .... and a little bit later...

    It seems I found one thing he knows how to do! LOL
     
    #13
  14. juan

    juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    8,282
    Likes Received:
    162
    and epix
     
    #14
  15. coolman302003

    coolman302003 Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    #15
  16. slick1ru2

    slick1ru2 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Posts:
    593
    Likes Received:
    9
    They need to add this as well as allow the Blockbuster app that recently showed up on Roku and has been out on smart phones to allow streaming of the movies on the website and adding to the Dish Blockbuster@Home queue.
     
    #16
  17. allargon

    allargon Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't forget that your Dish account also allows access to Bigflix.com movies. The Android app doesn't work, but the web page allows for a Dish login.
     
    #17
  18. mentsmin

    mentsmin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Posts:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I really hope that Dish gets on this soon. Hard to understand how DirecTV customers get more Showtime channels AND access to Showtime Anytime, for the exact same price.
     
    #18
  19. dangue

    dangue Pub Member / Supporter
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    113
    Different carriage agreements would be my guess.
     
    #19
  20. mike123abc

    mike123abc Too many cables
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    20,615
    Likes Received:
    402
    I am sure there is some contract change that would have to take place and we will have to wait until the current contract ends.
     
    #20
VigLink badge
Sucuri