Offline satellite internet downloading

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Babadem

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 21, 2007
MA
How can one use the DVBWorld USB 2104D to legally grab goodies off data transponders on Satellites. What programs can be used grab these files and what satellites can one find interesting stuff? I'm new at this so all your explanations and help will be appreciated.

The highlighted word legally is the reason you probably will not get any responses.
In Europe there are many legal data service, but that is not the case in North America.
It is not considered legal to capture others internet traffic, and most data services are not meant for us, some use proprietary systems.

The only one I can think of that is legal to receive is NOAAPORT,
which requires a large C-Band dish and I believe that the capture software only runs on Linux.

Last edited:
Agreed with qwert1515. Truthfully, I am afraid to touch the subject, mostly because I don't know the relevant laws. Being two way communications, observing such data seems somewhat similar to a wiretap, and my initial impression would be that it is not legal to do so.

In the interests of freedom and the potential technical discussion, however, I'd be very pleased to learn my impression is incorrect.

The highlighted word legally is the reason you probably will not get any responses.
In Europe there are many legal data service, but that is not the case in North America.
It is not considered legal to capture others internet traffic, and most data services are not meant for us, some use proprietary systems.