Ooma/directv caller id

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by frytzz, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. frytzz

    frytzz Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some help. I replaced my Time Warner phone service with Ooma. The problem I am having
    is I can't get the caller id on the Genie to work. I have "easy jacks" these worked with Time Warner,
    but I can't get them to work at all.

    I have reset the hr34, the easy jacks and even talked to Ooma tech support.

    Anyone have any suggestions?

    Thanks Brian
     
    #1
  2. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    50,142
    Likes Received:
    241
    Do you have Dial Tone at the jack going to the HR34 for sure ?
     
    #2
  3. frytzz

    frytzz Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are using all wireless phones. This was the same set-up we had with Time Warner and we had no problems, same phones. We also have the whole home dvr setup. Everything is plugged into the wireless router. At this point I am stumped..

    Brian
     
    #3
  4. twizt3dkitty

    twizt3dkitty SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    60
    If the house is wired for phone, i would backfeed to the house from ooma, then disconnect landline from the nid

    Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk 2
     
    #4
  5. oldanbo

    oldanbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    try the Ooma Linx if twizt3dkitty's won't work for your setup. I used the backfeed suggestion, but the Linx worked in another location. (same house)
     
    #5
  6. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    50,142
    Likes Received:
    241
    This is the way it should be done.
     
    #6
  7. nvguy38

    nvguy38 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Linx may be the way you have to go.....not certain, but I believe cable company IP phone system is a bit different than Ooma setup. Somehow, you'll need a direct connection between the Ooma device and the HR34. I believe the Linx is the best way to do that since it sounds like you've got the newer Ooma Telo system (I've got the older hub).
     
    #7
  8. DodgerKing

    DodgerKing SatelliteGuys Guru
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Posts:
    16,744
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have my Ooma plugged directly into one of the phone jacks in the house and it powers all the outlets/jacks in the house.

    You have to unplug the line from the main box connecting you to the line from the street.

    Sent from my Jailbroken iPhone 5 using SatelliteGuys
     
    #8
  9. andrewj0781

    andrewj0781 Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    A little off topic but is Ooma worth it? I'm looking to reduce the cost of my home phone. I need one since my Wife's aunt lives with us and needs it to make a few calls a day. Is the service work good enough to fully replace home phone?


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #9
  10. schneid

    schneid Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    564
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have Ooma and the DTV CallerID works fine. I have severed my house wiring from AT&T and connected Ooma to it instead. Is it worth it? ABSOLUTELY! I have Premier. $120/year. Best features are its voicemail, call blocking and forwarding. And yes, it will fax. Voicemails can be received from a handset, the web, via email and a phone app. I'm Android and use Ooma Voicemail Checker. NO more telemarketers!. Ooma has their own blacklist and you can create your own personal blacklist. Call forwarding. Usual uses but you can also forward it to your cell. Call can be answered from handset OR cell if away. I also have the bluetooth dongle that makes my cell a connected handset if in range. It is so integrated I no longer really know where a call was destined. I just answer it. You can tell by CallerID. If home it was forwarded and if the caller it was dongled. Call log just like your cell phone. Last I saw, Costo was selling them for $160. No brainer to me. CAUTION! They have an official Android mobile app that I have read is absolute CRAP.
     
    #10
  11. nvguy38

    nvguy38 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's my setup as well......I just didn't think the new Telo units had a wall jack but I may be confusing the functionality of the Scout device that I have with that of a telephone. What you state makes sense if you don't have the old Hub and Scout setup. I use it so I have a separate voicemail box downstairs. My phone system is plugged directly into the hub while I use the 'wall' jack to power the Scout device. In my case, you can't plug a standard phone into the wall and have it work. It would need to be plugged into the Scout device which is another discussion :)

    I have a 6 phone system that operates from 1 base that is plugged directly into the Ooma hub so my situation doesn't dictate the need to power all my house jacks for phone connections. However, I can see how you could make this work with either device...just didn't think long enough on the subject :)

    At any rate, FWIW, I've had Ooma since Sept 2010 and do like it for the dirt cheap cost. It's better than cell but not as good as POTS with regard to voice quality and 911 but their features are what sold me (schneid went into some of that in detail). I'm grandfathered under the old 'no taxes' plan for now so I only pay the $120/year for premium until I decide to upgrade to their newer Telo device. Once that happens, I have to start paying taxes like everyone else.....comes to like maybe $3-$4 monthly. Still holding out and maybe will just wait until my current device dies before worrying about it :) Their 'free' plan only costs you the taxes and fees along with the initial device purchase....still get free LD and some other basic features I can't recall at the moment. Good for cell backup or primary and I think you still get a year or something free of Premium features if you port your number for like $99 or so...
     
    #11
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri