Open box or skybox

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by gorgojos75, Jul 2, 2013.

  1. gorgojos75

    gorgojos75 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just pointed my dish to 30w and I want to get the mpg4 transponders from this bird.
    My receiver is old and only shows the mpg2 channels. I've been looking on line for the cheapest receiver that play mpg4 h264 and they cost like 75 dollars or something. What you guys think would be better.
    I heard the open box has problem with the firmware so any advice will be welcome.
    thax
     
    #1
  2. ke4est

    ke4est Long Live FTA
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    16,766
    Media:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    311
    Either can have there issues as they are not designed for the NA market. The Openbox S-series is the ones people had so many different issues with. The openbox X3 or x5 works great here, I mean they are not perfect, but run fine. Skybox F3 is ok too. I like the Openbox X3 the best myself. Your best bet would be to find a used microHD if you can't afford new. If not go with the Openbox X3.
     
    #2
  3. Lone Gunman

    Lone Gunman SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    51
    I've got two Openbox S9 receivers and love'em! I've also got two AZBox receivers (Ultra and Elite) that I never use much since I got the S9s. Do I have issues with my S9s? Why yes I do but there's enough positives with these things that the few negatives don't really matter.

    The two S9s I have were purchased USED about 3 years ago. One came from another member here and the other from All Star Wholesale and each was under $90 shipped. If either of these go bad then I'll probably try to find another one like it as I like being able to swap channel lists between systems. Here's a link to a NEW one on Amazon for $75 shipped!

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004X9XFCO/?tag=satell01-20
     
    #3
  4. Anole

    Anole SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11,819
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have a lengthy discussion on the X2. It's less expensive.
    Over the last 9 months, most of its bugs have been slain.
    Not sure if any remaining ones would bother you.
    http://www.satelliteguys.us/threads/292539-X2-Premium-HD-PVR-Satellite-Receiver

    As mentioned above, the microHD from SatelliteAV will do the job.
    We get excellent support from the factory.
    If you are pinching pennies, I'm sure we can recommend a discount dealer (eBay).
    There are no clones, so it would be from an authorized dealer.
    Something that's hard to guarantee with the other boxes. :)
    .
     
    #4
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013
  5. gorgojos75

    gorgojos75 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thax for your quick reply you guys...
     
    #5
  6. Blindowl1234

    Blindowl1234 Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Posts:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    6
    Micro HD hands down..has support here in the USA. You couldn't give me another S9, S10, or S55 lol....
     
    #6
  7. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    for me and others here the x2 Premium HD has been the surprised this year with its ability to BLIND SCAN amazingly good and accurate. Some have reported that it doesn't scan as good as the microhd.. but my videos talk for themselves on head to head comparison.

    http://youtu.be/rYbPUaaA5lE

    http://youtu.be/icm1mCJsmo8

    http://youtu.be/6E4lJ_iy3as
     
    #7
  8. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter Corporate Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    4
    After wasting your time watching YouTube, read the X2 thread and see why these tests are poorly executed and is not even close to an apples to apples comparison as pro96 wants to viewers believe. Yes, the X2 scans fast, but these videos are pure BS!

    Proper testing yields valid data.
     
    #8
  9. wallyhts

    wallyhts SatelliteGuys Family
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    97
    I agree. I may just have to make a video with both units running at the same time with clocks. Running from the same dish same lnbf same muilt switch same everything. But then again the X2 is for the crowd I refuse to touch with a 10 foot pole.
     
    #9
  10. pro96

    pro96 SoCal Satelital Loco!
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Posts:
    6,441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Truth hurts on video more like :eek:

    Posted Using The New SatelliteGuys Reader App!
     
    #10
  11. SatelliteAV

    SatelliteAV SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter Corporate Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    4
    If your "video test" used the same parameters on each STB, the results would be valid. You ignore a testing/experimentation basic referred to as the "control variable". This was pointed out to you after you posted the the first YouTube video.

    The testing is flawed because the microHD was set to detailed scan mode which takes more time as the unit is directed to spend additional time scanning and logging any carrier that it detects. The X2 does not have this feature and will not log non-DVB compliant streams. Example stream that the X2 cannot log: Scan AMC8 139w, TP frequency 3951. The X2 doesn't log a single channel of the 1000+ radio channels.

    Repeat your test using Normal Scan mode on the microHD and adjust the scan range to 11.7 to 12.2GHz. The scan time and logged service results will be much closer. This will truly be Apples to Apples testing.

    But that isn't want you want, is it?
     
    #11
  12. Vallenato

    Vallenato Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Micro Hd, Openbox X3 and X2 have "Beeper sound" on signal detection?? . My Openbox S9 does not have

    pd: Sorry, for hang up in your post brother::eek:
     
    #12
  13. gorgojos75

    gorgojos75 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see so many complaints about the openbox on the internet .... But no many about the skybox.....
     
    #13
VigLink badge
Sucuri