Please Help!

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by dani, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded my Dish receiver from the 722 to the 922. I have a 3D tv and wanted access to Blockbuster movies. The receiver cannot connect to the internet. It shows the DCHP is ok, but internet and server connections fail. I have a netgear WNR2000v3 router and Verizon DSL. The modem is a Westell 6100. When I look at the devices seen by my router, it shows the receiver, so the router is seeing the receiver, but is not allowing it to access the internet. The receiver also shows it is acquiring an IP address. I don't know what to do. I have tried to connect via direct ethernet to no avail. I have talked to Verizon, and they say it is nothing on their end. Any suggestions?
    Thank you!

    I should also add that I have a TV,DVD player, computer, and phone that connects without any problems.
     
    #1
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  2. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello? Is anybody out there?
     
    #2
  3. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    54
    Try adding the 922 IP into the DMZ list on the router. If you just had it installed, I would give it the first nightly update to see if that helps.
     
    #3
  4. Rizon216

    Rizon216 PIT MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is your router set to filter by MAC address? What happens if you plug the receiver directly into the Westell?
     
    #4
  5. JasonS@DISH

    JasonS@DISH Official DISH Network Support
    DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Posts:
    225
    Likes Received:
    8
    I would lean towards Lucky as well, if you put the 922 into the DMZ it should connect fine.
     
    #5
  6. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,744
    Likes Received:
    408
    Too bad you just got here. Otherwise, we would have tried to talk you out of a 922...a defunct receiver. For the most part, it never worked right. I don't think Dish should even make them available anymore. I know it sounds like I'm raining on your parade, but you should know about it's history.
     
    #6
  7. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I tried adding the IP address to the DMZ list....no go. I have it connected directly by LAN port, still a no go. The only reason why I upgraded was because I wanted access to their 3D movie channels. My 722 did not offer that. It just pi**e* me off that I can't fully use this receiver's functions (Blockbuster movies). I even tried google DNS....no go!
     
    #7
  8. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,744
    Likes Received:
    408
    You would have been able to get 3D (or what LITTLE there is of it) with a 722K. The best VIP receiver in the fleet. Also, I think you may have a misconception of Dish/Blockbuster. There is no BB streaming like Netflix, just DVDs at home.
     
    #8
  9. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    54
    I don't think 3D vod content is still being pushed to the 722s, just 922/Hopper now.
     
    #9
  10. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys God
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    15,744
    Likes Received:
    408
    Never any word of that here, so I will maintain the 722K can get it.
     
    #10
  11. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    54
    Yeah, they are capable but no content to view.
     
    #11
  12. maryb@Dish Network

    maryb@Dish Network Official DISH Network Support
    DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    5
    3D is no longer available for ViP722 receivers. Can you please PM me your account or phone number and let me know what kind of internet you have? I will assist you further with your internet connectivity issue. Thank you!
     
    #12
  13. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told the 722 could not receive 3D. That's the reason why I switched. I had my 722 for 10 years and only replaced one time because the hard drive crashed. I am on my second 922 in one month. I had to unplug the first one every morning because it could not find a signal.
    I thought the broadband connection was specifically for receiving dish on demand and blockbuster movies?

    Mary Catherine, how do I PM you?
     
    #13
  14. dare2be

    dare2be SatGuys Mafia
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    6,454
    Likes Received:
    495
    Click on her username (maryb@Dish Network) above and there is an option for sending a PM.
     
    #14
  15. Rey

    Rey @ your service
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    25,816
    Likes Received:
    141
    What dare2be said or i'll make it easier for you --> http://www.satelliteguys.us/private.php?do=newpm&u=162775
     
    #15
  16. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you everyone!
     
    #16
  17. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Welcome To SatelliteGuys!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    85,365
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    That's why we are here. :)

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
    #17
  18. lucky86

    lucky86 SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    54
    By the way, I'm just curious, but who is your ISP and what model modem/router?
     
    #18
  19. dani

    dani Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have verizon DSL and a netgear WNR2000. I tried to directly connect the verizon modem to the receiver. Same connection errors. It finds an IP address, DCHP = ok, but internet and server connections fail. I am so bummed! I should also mention that this is my second receiver. The first one needed rebooted every morning because it would lose the signal and could not reconnect unless I reset the receiver. The new receiver has not needed rebooted yet.
     
    #19
  20. R0ss

    R0ss Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    2
    He has verizon DSL, he did mention that early on. The westel 6100 is Verizon's basic dsl modem works really well, but you really need a good quality router I like the wrt54gs flashed with dd-wrt. Found this to be very stable for our needs. For those that don't know this is a wireless router that also has 4 Ethernet ports.
    Based on what I have read here Dish needs to retire the 922. Sure some folks got lucky and have had no problems but it seems to me the lucky ones are truly the exception.

    Ross


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    #20
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri