Problems with Dual Tuner PIP

Discussion in 'The DIRECTV Forum' started by Maveri9720, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. Maveri9720

    Maveri9720 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some help please. I just spent all day connecting and running through my house, my 4th line on my Triple LNB Oval dish to go to my DVR to utilize my dual tuner and my picture in picture. I get everything hooked up and re-run the setup to enable the dual tuner and it all passes.

    The tv is a sony 34" widescreen and it's PIP splits the screen into two equal boxes. Well, the box on the right is snow and the one on the left is normal. I can't change the input on the one on the right. I re-read the tv manual and it says the left box will be able to be viewed, but not in the right screen if I am using Video inputs 5, 6, 7 (Component, component and DVI), which I am using input 5, coming from my HT receiver, which is Monitor Out.

    Now, I connected an S-video cable coming from the VCR/DVR connection on my HT receiver to Input 3 on my TV and now both channels show the same thing. I am using the S-video from my DVR to my HT receiver.

    Not sure what I have to do to be able to use the PIP and be able to see two different channels.

    Any help? I know this is kind of rushed, so if I left something important out, please let me know.

    Thanks all.
     
    #1
  2. Spin

    Spin Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will not be able to see two different channels with only one DVR. You would need two separate DVRs. I think that is what you are trying to do?
     
    #2
  3. Maveri9720

    Maveri9720 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? So I can just record one channel and watch another and that's it? I was under the assumption that with the dual tuner, I could view two different channels at once, using the PIP. I know I could with cable.

    Just doesn't make sense if that's the case.
     
    #3
  4. Spin

    Spin Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has two tuners and only one output. That's how it works. You can record one, watch another. Record two watch something else recorded. etc.
     
    #4
  5. sshams95

    sshams95 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only DVR that I know of where you can watch 2 shows at the same time is the old Ultimate TV. That's why I still have it (plus the HR10-250). To watch 2 football games at the same time is pretty cool. I can never understand why this functionality is not available in all Tivo units.
     
    #5
  6. Maveri9720

    Maveri9720 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the explanation guys. Yea, it finally sank in w/ the single output, w/2 inputs, after a million combinations between my DVR, TV and HT Receiver, with no luck.

    But, I can just record both channels and flip back and forth, so not a major issue.

    Thanks again........
     
    #6
  7. meStevo

    meStevo SatelliteGuys Family
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    8,877
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yup, did that a lot last football season. Now im this year I am in an apartment where i dont have line of sight and don't even have cable.

    This sucks. :)
     
    #7
  8. rkr0923

    rkr0923 Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Posts:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    you split screen if you have OTA hooked up
     
    #8
  9. billbillw

    billbillw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    2-tuner PIP was great in the days before digital cable and satellite. Since then, its been pretty much useless. Most of them only work with analog signals from a basic cable feed or OTA antenna.

    I am able to use split screen, but I have a built in ATSC tuner for one side and use the Tivo for the other. Of course that only allows me to see OTA channels on one side.
     
    #9
  10. bweiteka

    bweiteka Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    5
    that's why i like my 522 from E*. All the benefits of a tivo AND PIP.
     
    #10
  11. Hogarth

    Hogarth Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pity the 522 crashes 40 times a day.
     
    #11
  12. jstroup

    jstroup Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    625 seems a bunch more durable . . .
     
    #12
  13. bweiteka

    bweiteka Active SatelliteGuys Member
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    5
    my 522 has never crashed...in 6 months
     
    #13
  14. Thunder7

    Thunder7 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is why I still have it too. I am amazed that the other dual turner DVRs did not go with built-in PIP. It is an awesome feature of UltimateTV.
     
    #14
  15. ShadowEKU

    ShadowEKU Expert in the Making
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read somewhere recently (I dont remember where... maybe wired?) that 99% of people who have/used the pip function only used it once or twice.

    Personally I have it on my tv but I dont use it to watch 2 shows... I use it to watch a show and play a game at the same time.
     
    #15

Share This Page

VigLink badge
Sucuri