Welcome to SatelliteGuys!



Get rid of many of these ads when you become a member of SatelliteGuys Today! Membership is fast and FREE! CLICK HERE to sign up now!

Program Guide Won't Update

Discussion in 'The DISH Forum' started by elevator_opratr, May 3, 2005.

  1. elevator_opratr

    elevator_opratr Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm new to this forum. Looks good! Perhaps someone here can help me.

    I have the Super Dish through Dish Network.

    My on-screen program guide refuses to update on its own. It started this about a month ago. I either have to click that I want to update my guide information, or I have to reset the box manually.

    I checked my settings and it is set to update every night at 3 a.m.

    And I turn my box off after every use.

    I called tech support and they walked me through changing transponder settings, but that didn't help.

    I have checked all my connections and they are all tight.

    I don't know what else to try. It's not an urgent thing, but it is annoying.

    Any help appreciated.
     
    #1
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. mudder1310

    mudder1310 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    What sort of signal do you have on 110 transponder 19? I think that's where the EPG info comes in. If you're under 80 you should probably repeak your dish.

    Also, you don't mention what receiver model it is. Some boxes are prone to guide problems.
     
    #2
  3. jaschier

    jaschier Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I believe the extended guide information is satellite 110 transponder 29. Also, if you keep having to reset it and its set to update on its own, it may be whats called non-volatile memory failure, where the guide info is mistakenly stored on flash memory and the guide dumps it doesn't update again unless you reset it or force it. If that's the case, I think you tell on the system information screen, the software version should have a -f or -n, if its -f it means memory failure. On the new sysm info 1,2,3 screens, i think thats located on the 3rd screen where hardware id is, may want to check that, i've heard it could be the cause.
     
    #3
  4. chaddux

    chaddux Insert Clever Phrase Here Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    This information is irrelevant if you don't have a DVR. Only the EEPG comes from there. The EPG is available from 61.5, 105, 110, 119, 121, 129, and 148.
     
    #4
  5. elevator_opratr

    elevator_opratr Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I appreciate the info. I'll check that, but I'm not sure I understand how to correct it based on what you are saying. Could you give me some more details as to what exactly I should be looking for?
     
    #5
  6. jaschier

    jaschier Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'd go ahead and call dish. from either the sytem information screen it should say software version with numbers then letters, and if it has something like "L234gald-f" it means the receiver is bad. or if its a receiver with 3 system info screens, that set of numbers will be next to where it says hardware id. i'd say call them get it replaced even if doesn't have the 'dash f', its still not updating the guide like its supposed to.
     
    #6
  7. elevator_opratr

    elevator_opratr Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do they charge for that?
     
    #7
  8. chaddux

    chaddux Insert Clever Phrase Here Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd wait until someone comes along to confirm that info. I've never heard that "dash F" means the receiver is bad. This person has only posted twice and, if history is any indication, there is a very high probability that it is not correct.
     
    #8
  9. jaschier

    jaschier Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you'd like you can do that and wait, or call and ask a tech agent. most of them know that from what i've heard.
     
    #9
  10. jpezz

    jpezz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not if it is a leased system and new (less than a year, I beleive). When I had a bad receiver, they sent a new one and a box for the old. They paid shipping both ways.

    You might try some other things:

    1) Kiss the rear of the receiver. It might not help this problem but might preclude others in the future :D

    2) Send me money. 10s and 20s are preferred. It definitely will not help your problem but will help mine. :D

    3) Call E*. When you get a CSR on the line, ask them to wrap their cable around their neck - then pull real hard on your end. Won't fix the receiver but the squeal will make you feel better. Actually works much better if you have a manager at the other end. :D
     
    #10
  11. SimpleSimon

    SimpleSimon SatelliteGuys Family Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has he bothered to tell us what model receiver he has yet? :rolleyes:
     
    #11

Share This Page