Question about suspending Directv service - will DVR's still work?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by marshdom, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. marshdom

    marshdom Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking about suspending my Directv service for a while (I understand you can do it for up to 6 months). Unfortunately, I am in area (Portland, OR) where Directv still does not carry my regional sports station (Comcast Sports Net NW) - so I need to switch to Comcast TV for a few months. I don't want to turn off Directv, as I've been a long-time & happy customer - and don't want to lose my status.

    I was wondering if you guys could help me with 2 questions: 1) any pitfalls or heads-up on anything I should know about in terms of suspending service (seems pretty straight forward); and 2) MOST IMPORTANTLY - will I still be able to access things that I have recorded on my DVRs (HR20-700's) ... even when my account is suspended and the DVR's are NOT connected to the satellite? I tested by just disconnecting the two satellite cables, and it seemed to still work.

    Thanks.
     
    #1
  2. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    330
    I know if you cancel, the dvr no longer works, but I'm not sure if that's the same for a suspension.
     
    #2
  3. Hutch1814

    Hutch1814 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just a thought, unhook your receivers from the dish then cancel? Maybe they have no way of deactivating the DVR'ed stuff since its not connected to anything. Just a thought, not sure if it will even work
     
    #3
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    330
    That will, but from what I have read, not for very long.
     
    #4
  5. Hutch1814

    Hutch1814 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    11
    My question is how? If its not getting anything how does directv send a signal to stop the service from working? There is no way to get a signal to deactivate if it's unhooked from the dish, correct?
     
    #5
  6. marshdom

    marshdom Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replies. I like Hutch's idea (worth a shot). But I certainly hope for a more definitive answer (anyone else with knowledge - please chime in!). How would the DVR "know" that my account was suspended? I already verified that I can access the shows I've recorded when the DVR is not connected to the satellite ("searching for service"). But maybe there's a "time bomb" that tells the DVR to stop working after a certain amount of time (with the DVR not connected to an an active satellite account)? Sure would be nice to be able to still access the shows on the HR20's while my account is suspended ... appreciate any ideas or knowledge ...
     
    #6
  7. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    32,120
    Likes Received:
    636
    With E*, and I believe D* also, there is indeed a time bomb. If no sat signal is received after a certain time and there's no successful "phone home" then it's toes up.

    I believe while suspended, even if connected to a sat dish, you cannot watch DVR'd material. But call and ask. Perhaps you should consider just dropping to the lowest cost tier for a while.
     
    #7
  8. dbphipps

    dbphipps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suspended Directv service last summer for 2 months and my DVR worked for less than a day after suspension.

    David
     
    #8
  9. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    50,111
    Likes Received:
    237
    Your DVR functions or the Recvr all together ?

    Op, I would Call and ask them about it .... let us know, it's an interesting question.

    Now I know that when I unplug a DVR and move it to the Motor home If I try to watch shows on the DVR, it won't allow it, till I give it a Sat Signal ...

    Unless someone has a sure way to do this, I don't use the recvr till I get to where I am going.
    Would like to fire up the DVR and watch shows in the evening, without the Sat Sig connected, so far No luck.

    Don't know if it matters, but using a HR20-700 in the MH.
     
    #9
  10. marshdom

    marshdom Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did call into Directv and they said that I would NOT be able to use the DVR while the account was suspended. But the guy I spoke with didn't seem terribly knowledgeable, so I was hoping to get a more definitive answer here. I know that I'm able to detach my HR20's from the satellite at least for a while and still access the recorded shows, but I fear that there is a time bomb - whether or not I detach the satellite before suspending the account (a nice idea from Hutch1814 - but I fear not a work-around). Kinda stinks ... seems like I should be able to find a way to make this work. Please let me know if anyone else has any great ideas! (About all I can come up with is recording everything I care about onto standard def DVD's - yuck!)
     
    #10
  11. Jimbo

    Jimbo NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    50,111
    Likes Received:
    237
    The scenario I mentioned above,, probably answers your question.

    I think it's a case of the DVR (or reg. recvr for that matter) being disconnected from the Sat signal, once D* sees that the recvr is not connected for a period of time, it goes to channels not authorized.

    When I have the recvr in the MH disconnected for a few weeks, I have to re authorize it before it will work again.
     
    #11
  12. marshdom

    marshdom Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed a lot of people have read this thread, but no more replies! :)

    Anyone else come up with any ideas ... workarounds ... suggestions ... or even just ways to get the shows I care about off the DVR? (my best solution at this point is via a DVD player/recorder - but it stinks to have to record 16:9 HD material onto a SD 4:3 letterboxed DVD-R!)

    Thanks in advance for any additional thoughts/insights ...
     
    #12
  13. Aridon

    Aridon Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    421
    Likes Received:
    22
    You can get a hauppauge device to get them off an on a PC. That would be simple enough. Otherwise you could just drop down to family for the few months and pay that instead.
     
    #13
  14. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    17,671
    Likes Received:
    330
    A dvd recorder should give you widescreen sd. Not hd, but watchable anyway.
     
    #14
        
VigLink badge
Sucuri